Welcome to NESR! Most features of this site require registration, including replying to threads, sending private messages, starting new threads, and uploading files. Click here to register.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bike wont run, I'm pulling the carbs, things to look for?

Ok, after replacing pretty much every piece of the ignition because the bike would run shitty/not run at all, I finally figured out that it wasnt an ignition problem at all, but instead I'm getting no fuel. I know I'm good up to the carbs, pulled the fuel line at the fuel rail for the carbs, and key'ing on the pump prime gets me plenty of fuel flow there. Engine will start and idle fine if I keep the airbox hosed with ether.

So apparently after 11 years, the carbs have finally gummed up, plugged up, whatever.

Bike is a 95 FZR600, non-california model.

Basically, all I know my issue is, is that I'm not getting any fuel into the chambers at all, beyond that I'm clueless. I have no prior experience with carbs beyond a small engine class I took in high school like 8 years ago. I have the service manual, so if all else fails, I should be able to put everything back together.

Is there anything in particular I should be looking at? I bought some carb cleaner, so assuming I can actually get the carbs off, what am I going to want to take apart and clean?

Any tips on getting the throttle cables off? I think thats going to be my only issue really with getting them off.

Blah blah blah, just looking to not completely fuck this up, any input is appreciated. I'll probably look back in an hour or two, I'll be out in the garage now pulling the bike apart for the 8,000 time.

Used bike

And any general recommendations on wear parts that should generally be replaced. I think I'll just shoot for getting the carbs pulled today and figure out a parts list and tear it down another day.

0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I know a little about everything, and alot about nothing.