Carpenter Ants

iTrader Score

Carpenter Ants

Over the summer I remodeled my master bath (1st floor). When I tore out the shower the exterior wall was crawling with carpenter ants. I had a local exterminator come in immediately. He sprayed the impacted areas, and then did the entire perimeter of the house inside and out. I haven't seen any evidence of them since, but then again I didn't see evidence of them before either. I have no experience with this, and wonder if I need to do some sort of follow up treatment in the Spring?

0 Not allowed!

iTrader Score
    1 (100%)

Re: Carpenter Ants

I found theses work very well./http://www.terro.com/terro-liquid-ant-baits-2-pack they have outside and inside bait traps. put four to six around the outside of the house and inside under the bathroom and kitchen sinks. Simple and cheap, the trick is not to kill any ants you see as they need to take the bait back to the nest.

0 Not allowed!
    Last edited by MUZ720; 11-12-17 at 07:30 PM.

iTrader Score

Thanks - they have these at Home Depot so I'll pick some up tomorrow. Seems carpenter ants don't necessarily go dormant in the winter, which is why they probably set up shop in a south-facing wall. I'll put some of these under the new bathroom and see what happens.

0 Not allowed!
    Last edited by Bonk!; 11-12-17 at 08:22 PM.

iTrader Score
    1 (100%)

Spring. for the outside traps.

0 Not allowed!
    Last edited by MUZ720; 11-12-17 at 08:28 PM.

iTrader Score

right - figured that!

0 Not allowed!

iTrader Score

I've used the terro stuff before too and it works well. I got this one, used it a handful of times over the years
    Access Denied

0 Not allowed!
    Matt
    '07 Yamaha FZ6 - Street
    '01 Honda CBR600F4i - Track
    '98 Suzuki DR350SE - Miscellaneous

High maintenance priss
    iTrader Score
    6 (100%)