Welcome to NESR! Most features of this site require registration, including replying to threads, sending private messages, starting new threads, and uploading files. Click here to register.

Cheap spray guns (worth it)?

Cheap spray guns (worth it)?

I was looking at a few cheap spray guns on harbor freight and amazon.

Not a pro painter and none of the projects I have in mind require high quality finish.

Undercoat a couple of trucks with NH undercoat oil. That undercoat is thick and heavy. Will any of these be fine to spray it?

Painting a few things like a trailer, a picnic table, a dump bed, etc that I donít care much about finish.

I looked at this to Save me time but I have never used a spray gun before. Thoughts?

Cheap spray guns (worth it)?-36a6e178-a434-42ff-952c-cb20a39db6be

0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

Lifer

Re: Cheap spray guns (worth it)?

I would get the lvlp gun. It will be more than fine for shit jobs. The hvlp guns have there uses but probably over kill. Its just easier to deal with the bottom tub than the top one if your just sloshing crap around. Easier to clean too.

I have the bottom one. Only used it a handful of times for spraying latex paint, mostly on trim moulding and louvered doors. Worked fine, takes a bit of trial and error spraying onto a piece of scrap to figure out the best pressure and settings. Works best thinning the paint a little bit, and I think when I filled the can I strained the paint through an old piece of window screen. Cleanup is pretty easy. Worth the $15-20 for sure.
    I use this compressor, ideally a bigger one would be better but it was fine. https://www.harborfreight.com/8-gall...sor-68740.html

-Matt

I'm ashamed to say I have more in spray guns than I should.