Welcome to NESR! Most features of this site require registration, including replying to threads, sending private messages, starting new threads, and uploading files. Click here to register.

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Cordless Power Tools

Cordless Power Tools

The batteries for my Porter Cable impact driver and drill set are spent and the impact driver is starting to act up. At this point, I've decied to buy into a whole new system. I want to go pro grade as I'm sick of wearing out tools. I'm not a pro but I take on a lot of projects so usage will be heavy for a typical homeowner/DIYer. I've burned through 3 impact drivers over the past 7 years, but they've all been homeowner grade so my guess is that's a factor.

Frankly, I'm not a huge fan of batteries and tend to run corded tools for the heavier stuff (saws etc.) so the higher voltage options aren't something I'm looking at. For the most part I'm sticking to the 18V range (or 20 depending on brand). The focus is portability and lighter tasks. In the long run I'll be looking to acquire an Impact Driver, Drill/Driver, Multi/Oscillating-Tool, right angle drill, reciprocating saw, and possibly a small hammer drill under this new system.

My understanding is that if you want good quality the top runners are Milwaukee and Makita. I've always been a Milwaukee fan but this is just my impression as I'm pretty far out of the loop in knowing what's good.

Any recommendations on which brand is worth going with? I'm not too hung up on price since quality is a priority and the difference between the options isn't enough to concern me.

0 Not allowed!

Re: Cordless Power Tools

Milwaukee for sure.

Im saving my pennies for an M18 impact.

1 Not allowed!

If I really wanted to get out of the "consumer" market and look at "pro" tools, I'd have a hard time getting away from Hilti.
    I'd also agree, I think of Milwaukee as the leader in the "prosumer" market.

0 Not allowed!