Welcome to NESR! Most features of this site require registration, including replying to threads, sending private messages, starting new threads, and uploading files. Click here to register.

Page 12 of 12 FirstFirst ... 23456789101112
Results 276 to 287 of 287

Cutting the cord....

  1. #276
    Super Moderator TheIglu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Royalston, MA
    Age
    39
    Posts
    19,784

    Re: Cutting the cord....


    Quote Originally Posted by nhbubba View Post
    We must be doing something wrong. We are on the "starter" or whatever broadband tier. Something like 10-15 down and 3 up.
    We stream shit all the time and are happy as pigs in shit. $50/mo /done
    Wife got a call the other day offering a "intro price" upgrade. F that.. We're good.
    I know people that have more bandwidth for their family of 4 than I run a 24 hour residential campus of 750 people with. And they still jump at any chance to pay for more bandwidth they won't use.

    1 Not allowed!
    -Clayton
    2006 Suzuki SV650
    2004 Suzuki Vstrom 650
    2001 Kawasaki ZRX1200R
    2000 Honda CBR929RR
    1982 Honda CB750F Super Sport

  2. #277
    Posting Freak
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Milton, MA
    Age
    54
    Posts
    760

    Re: Cutting the cord....

    Just dumped Hulu - it's super glitchy, their interface is lousy and the customer service worse (sounds like Comcast, right?). Jumped on the free trial for YouTube TV - it allows you to customize not just the channels you see, but the order they appear. I don't know why they don't all do this, but it's a good feature. So far the customer service has also been spot on. YouTube is owned by Google so it seems a good bet they'll continue to develop their tech.

    0 Not allowed!

  3. #278
    Angry Gumball RandyO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Farmington, NH
    Age
    66
    Posts
    13,068

    Re: Cutting the cord....

    my Roku is acting up, and instead of replacing it, I want to use my laptop and use the tv as a second monitor. the TV has a regular monitor cable input as well as HDMI capability and my laptop has both outputs. I have use my tv as a second monitor with a cable.. How would I go about doing that wireless ? I started searching on line, and just got confused

    is there a way I can just plug in dongles to my laptop, and the tv ?

    0 Not allowed!
    RandyO
    IBA#9560
    A man with a gun is a citizen
    A man without a gun is a subject

  4. #279
    Lifer
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Bristol County
    Age
    32
    Posts
    2,840

    Re: Cutting the cord....

    Quote Originally Posted by Bonk! View Post
    Just dumped Hulu - it's super glitchy, their interface is lousy and the customer service worse (sounds like Comcast, right?).
    NBC owns a third of them, and Comcast owns NBC. Hulu isn't exactly an 'alternative' to the cable companies. It's one of their products.

    0 Not allowed!
    02 Aprilia Futura
    86 GPz900R

  5. #280
    Kosher Assassin Stoneman's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Center Barnstead, NH
    Posts
    1,124,321

    Re: Cutting the cord....

    Quote Originally Posted by TheIglu View Post
    What speeds do you have now?
    Supposed to be 300/300. So far, so good with our fiber optic wireless cable box set-up. A few phones, a few TV's although they're rarely all streaming together.

    I was under the impression that the wireless video runs off a different access point than the WiFi though. Could I be mistaken?

    0 Not allowed!
    Did you grit your teeth and try to look like Clint Fuckin' Eastwood?
    Or did you lisp it all hangfisted like a fuckin' flower?

  6. #281
    Senior Member marshdrummer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Southington, CT
    Age
    46
    Posts
    373

    Re: Cutting the cord....

    Quote Originally Posted by RandyO View Post
    my Roku is acting up, and instead of replacing it, I want to use my laptop and use the tv as a second monitor. the TV has a regular monitor cable input as well as HDMI capability and my laptop has both outputs. I have use my tv as a second monitor with a cable.. How would I go about doing that wireless ? I started searching on line, and just got confused

    is there a way I can just plug in dongles to my laptop, and the tv ?
    They do make a HDMI wireless dongle. Last I looked, it is expensive. Also, I read some reviews that there is a slight lag.

    0 Not allowed!

  7. #282
    Super Moderator TheIglu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Royalston, MA
    Age
    39
    Posts
    19,784

    Re: Cutting the cord....

    Quote Originally Posted by Stoneman View Post
    Supposed to be 300/300. So far, so good with our fiber optic wireless cable box set-up. A few phones, a few TV's although they're rarely all streaming together.

    I was under the impression that the wireless video runs off a different access point than the WiFi though. Could I be mistaken?
    You are mistaken.

    There are two radios in there. A 5ghz radio and a 2.4Ghz radio. All devices, regardless of what content they provide, uses one or both of those radios. 5Ghz has more throughput and less intereference, but 2.4Ghz has much longer range and can penetrate more materials.


    300/300 is absurd for a single residence. If you can downgrade to 100/100 to save money, do it.

    You should be able to have 5 devices streaming all at once quite easily on a 100Mb connection.

    2 Not allowed!
    -Clayton
    2006 Suzuki SV650
    2004 Suzuki Vstrom 650
    2001 Kawasaki ZRX1200R
    2000 Honda CBR929RR
    1982 Honda CB750F Super Sport

  8. #283
    Kosher Assassin Stoneman's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Center Barnstead, NH
    Posts
    1,124,321

    Re: Cutting the cord....

    Quote Originally Posted by TheIglu View Post
    You are mistaken.

    There are two radios in there. A 5ghz radio and a 2.4Ghz radio. All devices, regardless of what content they provide, uses one or both of those radios. 5Ghz has more throughput and less intereference, but 2.4Ghz has much longer range and can penetrate more materials.


    300/300 is absurd for a single residence. If you can downgrade to 100/100 to save money, do it.

    You should be able to have 5 devices streaming all at once quite easily on a 100Mb connection.
    Hmmm...looking quickly, the internet package we have is their staring point for our area. I'll look into that a bit deeper when I get a chance though because the DO mention lower packages. Just doesn't show for my area, which wouldn't make much sense to me. I'll check tonight.

    0 Not allowed!
    Did you grit your teeth and try to look like Clint Fuckin' Eastwood?
    Or did you lisp it all hangfisted like a fuckin' flower?

  9. #284
    Lifer
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Bristol County
    Age
    32
    Posts
    2,840

    Re: Cutting the cord....

    Quote Originally Posted by Stoneman View Post
    Hmmm...looking quickly, the internet package we have is their staring point for our area. I'll look into that a bit deeper when I get a chance though because the DO mention lower packages. Just doesn't show for my area, which wouldn't make much sense to me. I'll check tonight.
    I agree that 300 is more than enough. The only thing I'd watch out for from some minimally promoted budget plan is that it might have monthly data restrictions. I want to say most (all?) ISPs have done away with that, but double check. If you have no restriction now, or it's super high, that's at least a perk you might benefit from. Depends on your total monthly usage, but streaming services eat data in a hurry.

    0 Not allowed!
    02 Aprilia Futura
    86 GPz900R

  10. #285
    Lifer ZX-12R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Candia, NH
    Age
    39
    Posts
    5,136

    Re: Cutting the cord....

    Quote Originally Posted by TheIglu View Post
    There are two radios in there.
    If it's a 4K box, it may have a 3rd radio at 60Ghz.

    0 Not allowed!
    "...i would seriously bite somebody right in the balls..." -bump909

  11. #286
    Have you seen my baseball GingahNinjah's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Somersworth, NH
    Age
    35
    Posts
    2,442

    Re: Cutting the cord....

    Disney+ went live today

    0 Not allowed!
    https://www.facebook.com/LRRSBT1R #54 EX 2007 SV650 "Work hard. Play harder. Die broke and happy!" Boston Tier 1 Racing Pirelli Tires Woodcraft-CFM Armorbodies Penguin Racing School Vortex Shorai Batteries DP Brakes Riders Discount SIDI Leatt

  12. #287
    Super Moderator TheIglu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Royalston, MA
    Age
    39
    Posts
    19,784

    Re: Cutting the cord....

    Quote Originally Posted by ZX-12R View Post
    If it's a 4K box, it may have a 3rd radio at 60Ghz.
    Not for connected wifi devices though... is it for other TV boxes or something?

    0 Not allowed!
    -Clayton
    2006 Suzuki SV650
    2004 Suzuki Vstrom 650
    2001 Kawasaki ZRX1200R
    2000 Honda CBR929RR
    1982 Honda CB750F Super Sport

Page 12 of 12 FirstFirst ... 23456789101112

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •