Welcome to NESR! Most features of this site require registration, including replying to threads, sending private messages, starting new threads, and uploading files. Click here to register.

Page 12 of 13 FirstFirst ... 2345678910111213 LastLast
Results 276 to 300 of 308

Cutting the cord....

  1. #276
    Super Moderator TheIglu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Royalston, MA
    Age
    39
    Posts
    19,792

    Re: Cutting the cord....


    Quote Originally Posted by nhbubba View Post
    We must be doing something wrong. We are on the "starter" or whatever broadband tier. Something like 10-15 down and 3 up.
    We stream shit all the time and are happy as pigs in shit. $50/mo /done
    Wife got a call the other day offering a "intro price" upgrade. F that.. We're good.
    I know people that have more bandwidth for their family of 4 than I run a 24 hour residential campus of 750 people with. And they still jump at any chance to pay for more bandwidth they won't use.

    1 Not allowed!
    -Clayton
    2006 Suzuki SV650
    2004 Suzuki Vstrom 650
    2001 Kawasaki ZRX1200R
    2000 Honda CBR929RR
    1982 Honda CB750F Super Sport

  2. #277
    Posting Freak
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Milton, MA
    Age
    54
    Posts
    762

    Re: Cutting the cord....

    Just dumped Hulu - it's super glitchy, their interface is lousy and the customer service worse (sounds like Comcast, right?). Jumped on the free trial for YouTube TV - it allows you to customize not just the channels you see, but the order they appear. I don't know why they don't all do this, but it's a good feature. So far the customer service has also been spot on. YouTube is owned by Google so it seems a good bet they'll continue to develop their tech.

    0 Not allowed!

  3. #278
    Angry Gumball RandyO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Farmington, NH
    Age
    67
    Posts
    13,077

    Re: Cutting the cord....

    my Roku is acting up, and instead of replacing it, I want to use my laptop and use the tv as a second monitor. the TV has a regular monitor cable input as well as HDMI capability and my laptop has both outputs. I have use my tv as a second monitor with a cable.. How would I go about doing that wireless ? I started searching on line, and just got confused

    is there a way I can just plug in dongles to my laptop, and the tv ?

    0 Not allowed!
    RandyO
    IBA#9560
    A man with a gun is a citizen
    A man without a gun is a subject

  4. #279
    Lifer
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Bristol County
    Age
    32
    Posts
    2,847

    Re: Cutting the cord....

    Quote Originally Posted by Bonk! View Post
    Just dumped Hulu - it's super glitchy, their interface is lousy and the customer service worse (sounds like Comcast, right?).
    NBC owns a third of them, and Comcast owns NBC. Hulu isn't exactly an 'alternative' to the cable companies. It's one of their products.

    0 Not allowed!
    02 Aprilia Futura
    86 GPz900R

  5. #280
    Kosher Assassin Stoneman's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Center Barnstead, NH
    Posts
    1,124,332

    Re: Cutting the cord....

    Quote Originally Posted by TheIglu View Post
    What speeds do you have now?
    Supposed to be 300/300. So far, so good with our fiber optic wireless cable box set-up. A few phones, a few TV's although they're rarely all streaming together.

    I was under the impression that the wireless video runs off a different access point than the WiFi though. Could I be mistaken?

    0 Not allowed!
    Did you grit your teeth and try to look like Clint Fuckin' Eastwood?
    Or did you lisp it all hangfisted like a fuckin' flower?

  6. #281
    Senior Member marshdrummer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Southington, CT
    Age
    46
    Posts
    375

    Re: Cutting the cord....

    Quote Originally Posted by RandyO View Post
    my Roku is acting up, and instead of replacing it, I want to use my laptop and use the tv as a second monitor. the TV has a regular monitor cable input as well as HDMI capability and my laptop has both outputs. I have use my tv as a second monitor with a cable.. How would I go about doing that wireless ? I started searching on line, and just got confused

    is there a way I can just plug in dongles to my laptop, and the tv ?
    They do make a HDMI wireless dongle. Last I looked, it is expensive. Also, I read some reviews that there is a slight lag.

    0 Not allowed!

  7. #282
    Super Moderator TheIglu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Royalston, MA
    Age
    39
    Posts
    19,792

    Re: Cutting the cord....

    Quote Originally Posted by Stoneman View Post
    Supposed to be 300/300. So far, so good with our fiber optic wireless cable box set-up. A few phones, a few TV's although they're rarely all streaming together.

    I was under the impression that the wireless video runs off a different access point than the WiFi though. Could I be mistaken?
    You are mistaken.

    There are two radios in there. A 5ghz radio and a 2.4Ghz radio. All devices, regardless of what content they provide, uses one or both of those radios. 5Ghz has more throughput and less intereference, but 2.4Ghz has much longer range and can penetrate more materials.


    300/300 is absurd for a single residence. If you can downgrade to 100/100 to save money, do it.

    You should be able to have 5 devices streaming all at once quite easily on a 100Mb connection.

    2 Not allowed!
    -Clayton
    2006 Suzuki SV650
    2004 Suzuki Vstrom 650
    2001 Kawasaki ZRX1200R
    2000 Honda CBR929RR
    1982 Honda CB750F Super Sport

  8. #283
    Kosher Assassin Stoneman's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Center Barnstead, NH
    Posts
    1,124,332

    Re: Cutting the cord....

    Quote Originally Posted by TheIglu View Post
    You are mistaken.

    There are two radios in there. A 5ghz radio and a 2.4Ghz radio. All devices, regardless of what content they provide, uses one or both of those radios. 5Ghz has more throughput and less intereference, but 2.4Ghz has much longer range and can penetrate more materials.


    300/300 is absurd for a single residence. If you can downgrade to 100/100 to save money, do it.

    You should be able to have 5 devices streaming all at once quite easily on a 100Mb connection.
    Hmmm...looking quickly, the internet package we have is their staring point for our area. I'll look into that a bit deeper when I get a chance though because the DO mention lower packages. Just doesn't show for my area, which wouldn't make much sense to me. I'll check tonight.

    0 Not allowed!
    Did you grit your teeth and try to look like Clint Fuckin' Eastwood?
    Or did you lisp it all hangfisted like a fuckin' flower?

  9. #284
    Lifer
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Bristol County
    Age
    32
    Posts
    2,847

    Re: Cutting the cord....

    Quote Originally Posted by Stoneman View Post
    Hmmm...looking quickly, the internet package we have is their staring point for our area. I'll look into that a bit deeper when I get a chance though because the DO mention lower packages. Just doesn't show for my area, which wouldn't make much sense to me. I'll check tonight.
    I agree that 300 is more than enough. The only thing I'd watch out for from some minimally promoted budget plan is that it might have monthly data restrictions. I want to say most (all?) ISPs have done away with that, but double check. If you have no restriction now, or it's super high, that's at least a perk you might benefit from. Depends on your total monthly usage, but streaming services eat data in a hurry.

    0 Not allowed!
    02 Aprilia Futura
    86 GPz900R

  10. #285
    Lifer ZX-12R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Candia, NH
    Age
    39
    Posts
    5,144

    Re: Cutting the cord....

    Quote Originally Posted by TheIglu View Post
    There are two radios in there.
    If it's a 4K box, it may have a 3rd radio at 60Ghz.

    0 Not allowed!
    "...i would seriously bite somebody right in the balls..." -bump909

  11. #286
    Have you seen my baseball GingahNinjah's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Somersworth, NH
    Age
    35
    Posts
    2,442

    Re: Cutting the cord....

    Disney+ went live today

    0 Not allowed!
    https://www.facebook.com/LRRSBT1R #54 EX 2007 SV650 "Work hard. Play harder. Die broke and happy!" Boston Tier 1 Racing Pirelli Tires Woodcraft-CFM Armorbodies Penguin Racing School Vortex Shorai Batteries DP Brakes Riders Discount SIDI Leatt

  12. #287
    Super Moderator TheIglu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Royalston, MA
    Age
    39
    Posts
    19,792

    Re: Cutting the cord....

    Quote Originally Posted by ZX-12R View Post
    If it's a 4K box, it may have a 3rd radio at 60Ghz.
    Not for connected wifi devices though... is it for other TV boxes or something?

    0 Not allowed!
    -Clayton
    2006 Suzuki SV650
    2004 Suzuki Vstrom 650
    2001 Kawasaki ZRX1200R
    2000 Honda CBR929RR
    1982 Honda CB750F Super Sport

  13. #288
    Angry Gumball RandyO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Farmington, NH
    Age
    67
    Posts
    13,077

    Re: Cutting the cord....

    Quote Originally Posted by marshdrummer View Post
    They do make a HDMI wireless dongle. Last I looked, it is expensive. Also, I read some reviews that there is a slight lag.
    as long as the audio lag = video lag, who gives a shit, not like I'm watching live tv.

    I saw them, thought $100+ was more than need be,

    0 Not allowed!
    RandyO
    IBA#9560
    A man with a gun is a citizen
    A man without a gun is a subject

  14. #289
    Kosher Assassin Stoneman's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Center Barnstead, NH
    Posts
    1,124,332

    Re: Cutting the cord....

    Quote Originally Posted by ZX-12R View Post
    If it's a 4K box, it may have a 3rd radio at 60Ghz.
    Quote Originally Posted by TheIglu View Post
    Not for connected wifi devices though... is it for other TV boxes or something?
    Yes, two sets (soon three) are 4K, thus my concern.

    0 Not allowed!
    Did you grit your teeth and try to look like Clint Fuckin' Eastwood?
    Or did you lisp it all hangfisted like a fuckin' flower?

  15. #290
    Kosher Assassin Stoneman's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Center Barnstead, NH
    Posts
    1,124,332

    Re: Cutting the cord....

    Quote Originally Posted by RandyO View Post
    my Roku is acting up, and instead of replacing it, I want to use my laptop and use the tv as a second monitor. the TV has a regular monitor cable input as well as HDMI capability and my laptop has both outputs. I have use my tv as a second monitor with a cable.. How would I go about doing that wireless ? I started searching on line, and just got confused

    is there a way I can just plug in dongles to my laptop, and the tv ?
    Never done it with wireless. But like you, we just used an HDMI cable from computer to TV back in the old days. Which in our case was just a few months ago!

    0 Not allowed!
    Did you grit your teeth and try to look like Clint Fuckin' Eastwood?
    Or did you lisp it all hangfisted like a fuckin' flower?

  16. #291
    Lifer
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Bristol County
    Age
    32
    Posts
    2,847

    Re: Cutting the cord....

    I think the wireless video, and even hard-wired off the laptop is going to be more annoying than it's going to be worth. Factory reset your Roku, and/or pick up a new Roku stick. Do the math on the time it'll take you to configure your laptop at your hourly rate. Unless you enjoy that stuff, spend your time elsewhere.

    0 Not allowed!
    02 Aprilia Futura
    86 GPz900R

  17. #292
    Angry Gumball RandyO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Farmington, NH
    Age
    67
    Posts
    13,077

    Re: Cutting the cord....

    Quote Originally Posted by aldend123 View Post
    I think the wireless video, and even hard-wired off the laptop is going to be more annoying than it's going to be worth. Factory reset your Roku, and/or pick up a new Roku stick. Do the math on the time it'll take you to configure your laptop at your hourly rate. Unless you enjoy that stuff, spend your time elsewhere.
    what setup/configuration time, ? soon as I attach a second monitor to my laptop, it recognizes it's there and asks me if I want to extend my laptop's screen, or duplicate it, I choose, done. That is way I've done it with cable (both VGA and HDMI), why would wireless be any different, other than maybe initially pairing the dongles

    watch Netflix or Amazon, directly thru their websites, no apps to load

    0 Not allowed!
    RandyO
    IBA#9560
    A man with a gun is a citizen
    A man without a gun is a subject

  18. #293
    Super Moderator TheIglu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Royalston, MA
    Age
    39
    Posts
    19,792

    Re: Cutting the cord....

    Quote Originally Posted by Stoneman View Post
    Yes, two sets (soon three) are 4K, thus my concern.
    But that doesn't change your need for bandwidth. Your TV service is NOT related to your bandwidth consumption. Two different services you pay for.

    The "internet" you pay for is for bandwidth to use your devices. You likely ALSO pay for TV on this package. That should not count towards the bandwidth you pay for as part of your TV package.

    0 Not allowed!
    -Clayton
    2006 Suzuki SV650
    2004 Suzuki Vstrom 650
    2001 Kawasaki ZRX1200R
    2000 Honda CBR929RR
    1982 Honda CB750F Super Sport

  19. #294
    Kosher Assassin Stoneman's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Center Barnstead, NH
    Posts
    1,124,332

    Re: Cutting the cord....

    Quote Originally Posted by TheIglu View Post
    But that doesn't change your need for bandwidth. Your TV service is NOT related to your bandwidth consumption. Two different services you pay for.

    The "internet" you pay for is for bandwidth to use your devices. You likely ALSO pay for TV on this package. That should not count towards the bandwidth you pay for as part of your TV package.
    Interesting. I'm pretty sure I misunderstood when they explained it to me. "...yup, oh yeah...I see...". Then it was all like, what the fuck did he just say?

    0 Not allowed!
    Did you grit your teeth and try to look like Clint Fuckin' Eastwood?
    Or did you lisp it all hangfisted like a fuckin' flower?

  20. #295
    Super Moderator TheIglu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Royalston, MA
    Age
    39
    Posts
    19,792

    Re: Cutting the cord....

    But any streaming you do via any streaming service applies to your bandwidth. Like Hulu, Netflix, Amazon, Disney+, etc etc etc.

    The TV you watch via the set top box is NOT part of your internet service.

    0 Not allowed!
    -Clayton
    2006 Suzuki SV650
    2004 Suzuki Vstrom 650
    2001 Kawasaki ZRX1200R
    2000 Honda CBR929RR
    1982 Honda CB750F Super Sport

  21. #296
    Kosher Assassin Stoneman's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Center Barnstead, NH
    Posts
    1,124,332

    Re: Cutting the cord....

    Quote Originally Posted by TheIglu View Post
    But any streaming you do via any streaming service applies to your bandwidth. Like Hulu, Netflix, Amazon, Disney+, etc etc etc.

    The TV you watch via the set top box is NOT part of your internet service.
    Yeah, I get it now! LOL!

    0 Not allowed!
    Did you grit your teeth and try to look like Clint Fuckin' Eastwood?
    Or did you lisp it all hangfisted like a fuckin' flower?

  22. #297
    Lifer ZX-12R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Candia, NH
    Age
    39
    Posts
    5,144

    Re: Cutting the cord....

    Quote Originally Posted by TheIglu View Post
    Not for connected wifi devices though... is it for other TV boxes or something?
    The better wireless HDMI systems use 60GHz radios which are part of the 59-64GHz unlicensed band. You can force 4K down a 5.8GHz pipe but you will have to compromise on picture quality, frame rate, or both. 60GHz has an even harder time penetrating walls than 5.8 and is even attenuated by the oxygen in the air so short links are the norm. The upside is that pretty much gaurantees almost no interference and it offers huge bandwidth over the wifi bands.

    I don't have the details of Stoneman's cable box but there's a chance it could have a 60GHz radio.

    0 Not allowed!
    "...i would seriously bite somebody right in the balls..." -bump909

  23. #298
    Lifer
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Bristol County
    Age
    32
    Posts
    2,847

    Re: Cutting the cord....

    Quote Originally Posted by Stoneman View Post
    Interesting. I'm pretty sure I misunderstood when they explained it to me. "...yup, oh yeah...I see...". Then it was all like, what the fuck did he just say?
    If you stream at 4K, through the internet on a computer or a streaming box, that consumes noteworthy amounts of bandwidth. If you watch cable TV through a cable box at 4K, that does not.

    Edit: I just realized you might be buying 4K smartTv's and intending to use the integrated smartTV feature. If so, that's 'streaming' at 4k. That counts towards your internet bandwidth.
    Quote Originally Posted by RandyO View Post
    what setup/configuration time, ? soon as I attach a second monitor to my laptop, it recognizes it's there and asks me if I want to extend my laptop's screen, or duplicate it, I choose, done. That is way I've done it with cable (both VGA and HDMI), why would wireless be any different, other than maybe initially pairing the dongles

    watch Netflix or Amazon, directly thru their websites, no apps to load
    It's tough to articulate a specific reason, it's just more that it can sometimes be frustrating to deal with various technical complications. E.g. your laptop won't stop going to sleep, or the laptop monitor turns off and you lose connection to the TV even though you swear you set it to stop doing that. Or an update happened and now your external video outputs refuse to work, no matter how many times you re-enable them.

    To be fair, a lot of this is getting much better so maybe I'm speaking with a slightly outdated experience.

    0 Not allowed!
    Last edited by aldend123; 11-12-19 at 06:19 PM.
    02 Aprilia Futura
    86 GPz900R

  24. #299
    is not wearing pants Point37's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    South Coast MAsshole
    Age
    38
    Posts
    2,097

    Re: Cutting the cord....

    Quote Originally Posted by Point37 View Post
    this is what i'm paying now...i could probably cut playstation vue as well once the football season is over or at least downgrade the package but i never do...

    xfinity blast internet 200mbps $95 (ripoff price, would like to knock this down but i don't want to spend time fighting on the phone with a retention specialist since there is no other cable service in town)
    netflix $13
    playstation vue core package $55
    hd antenna
    Well just turned off auto renew on the PlayStation vue now that I know itís going down at the end of January anyway...still have it until 12/4...down to comcast internet, Netflix and my hd antenna...doesnít seem to be any streaming utilities that have nfl network and espn only 1 or the other...and all of the pats games I can get on the antenna so I should be good as I donít typically watch other teams much...I think Iíll just keep it like this...didnít really watch ps vue a ton anyway and I hate commercials now


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

    0 Not allowed!
    bike: none but i have a seafoam green 125cc scooter
    Point37s Garage Sale Thread

  25. #300
    Senior Member marshdrummer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Southington, CT
    Age
    46
    Posts
    375

    Re: Cutting the cord....

    Quote Originally Posted by Point37 View Post
    Well just turned off auto renew on the PlayStation vue now that I know it’s going down at the end of January anyway...still have it until 12/4...down to comcast internet, Netflix and my hd antenna...doesn’t seem to be any streaming utilities that have nfl network and espn only 1 or the other...and all of the pats games I can get on the antenna so I should be good as I don’t typically watch other teams much...I think I’ll just keep it like this...didn’t really watch ps vue a ton anyway and I hate commercials now
    Sling Orange + Blue gives you NFL Network, Redzone, and ESPN. FOr $10 more, Bein sports for moto GP and WSBK

    1 Not allowed!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •