Welcome to NESR! Most features of this site require registration, including replying to threads, sending private messages, starting new threads, and uploading files. Click here to register.

Page 9 of 13 FirstFirst 12345678910111213 LastLast
Results 201 to 225 of 314

Cutting the cord....

  1. #201
    Lifer typeone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    central MA
    Age
    46
    Posts
    6,785

    Re: Cutting the cord....


    Quote Originally Posted by tsorfas View Post
    Which spectrum modem you have? Did you notice speed difference from Apple to Google Mesh?
    hmm, good question. no real markings on it but looks to be a Nokia 7368 ISAM ONT unit visually, i'll see if i can get more specs. Apple > Google came before Spectrum so can't say. loved Google Mesh from day one though, and i'm a die-hard Apple guy.

    0 Not allowed!
    Beta 200RR

  2. #202
    Angry Gumball RandyO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Farmington, NH
    Age
    67
    Posts
    13,149

    Re: Cutting the cord....

    I've been streaming netflix and amazon, etc for a while, but no real local news or programing, so I'm in the process of getting a digital antenna, my local stations will be from Portland, ME, I'm on the wrong side of the hill to get Manchester, NH, I couldn't get it with analog, I don't expect any better with digital broadcast. I might be able to get Boston, it's in the claimed range of some antennas

    0 Not allowed!
    RandyO
    IBA#9560
    A man with a gun is a citizen
    A man without a gun is a subject

  3. #203
    Burns retinas nhbubba's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Seacoast NH
    Posts
    16,173

    Re: Cutting the cord....

    I either get Boston or Portland or neither. I never get Manchester either depending on the weather and mood of those little electrons. I honestly doubt you will pull in any of the Boston stations at all. You can forget about the fox affiliate. Iíve never pulled that one in.

    0 Not allowed!

  4. #204
    Lifer tsorfas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    in my own little world...
    Posts
    9,915

    Re: Cutting the cord....

    via ethernet cable and Google Speed tester: 218mbps
    via ethernet cable and Spectrum Speed tester: 440mbps
    via ethernet cable and AT&T Speed Tester: 448mbps

    via Apple Airport Extreme Wifi and all my devices connected Google Speed Test: 98mbps
    via Apple Airport Extreme Wifi and all my devices connected Spectrum Speed Test: 119mbps
    via Apple Airport Extreme Wifi and all my devices connected AT&T Speed Test: 120mbps

    upload speeds were around 20 with all 3 testers and wifi

    0 Not allowed!

  5. #205
    Angry Gumball RandyO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Farmington, NH
    Age
    67
    Posts
    13,149

    Re: Cutting the cord....

    Quote Originally Posted by nhbubba View Post
    I either get Boston or Portland or neither. I never get Manchester either depending on the weather and mood of those little electrons. I honestly doubt you will pull in any of the Boston stations at all. You can forget about the fox affiliate. I’ve never pulled that one in.

    that make me lean toward a 60 mile antenna instead of a 150 mile range, the shorter range antennas are said to have better gain and not need signal amplification

    0 Not allowed!
    RandyO
    IBA#9560
    A man with a gun is a citizen
    A man without a gun is a subject

  6. #206
    Angry Gumball RandyO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Farmington, NH
    Age
    67
    Posts
    13,149

    Re: Cutting the cord....

    Quote Originally Posted by Stromper View Post
    I have a 6 bay HD antenna on a roof get all majors TRUE 60 mile range, I do live on a hill

    Timmy, have we had quality improvement since last 2 years. It was worse than reg TV last time
    tell me more about your antenna

    0 Not allowed!
    RandyO
    IBA#9560
    A man with a gun is a citizen
    A man without a gun is a subject

  7. #207
    Kosher Assassin Stoneman's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Center Barnstead, NH
    Posts
    1,124,386

    Re: Cutting the cord....

    Since stepping into the 21st century recently and getting a couple smart TV's, we find ourselves watching cable less & less. We've been researching certain networks, local news & sports options, pay per view choices, etc.

    The two new sets are both Roku, and that covers a lot. I can do without local news to a point, and we've found NECN on Roku - although it's a bit watered down and audio SUCKS with NECN. Big Shirl has found most of the networks she likes on free streaming as well, and can be happy with those. My biggest hang-up so far is NESN though. I *NEED* my Red Sox & Bruins LIVE.

    I guess my question is Fubo TV or You Tube TV to start the cord cutting process? If I remember, Fubo currently carries NESN & NECN, which I'm told is a helluvalot better than the NECN broadcast on Roku.

    0 Not allowed!
    Did you grit your teeth and try to look like Clint Fuckin' Eastwood?
    Or did you lisp it all hangfisted like a fuckin' flower?

  8. #208
    Lifer tsorfas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    in my own little world...
    Posts
    9,915

    Re: Cutting the cord....

    Quote Originally Posted by TheIglu View Post
    The more devices, the less airtime per device. Simple as that.

    Get a mesh system, hardwired units if possible. And hardwire everything that can feasibly be hardwired.
    Why are you suggesting a mesh system? I read a bit on the google WiFi. I can see how it can be great if you have a large home but I have a 1700 sq ft two floor and a basement. I didnít read any benefits on mesh for multiple devices.

    Care to elaborate? Iím sure Iím missing something.

    0 Not allowed!

  9. #209
    Super Moderator TheIglu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Royalston, MA
    Age
    39
    Posts
    19,882

    Re: Cutting the cord....

    If you have a ton of devices going to a single radio, that radio can only talk to one device at a time.

    If you add in a second radio, it's half the devices per radio.


    Really though, I wouldn't spend a dime on anything until you do some troubleshooting to find the root cause.

    1 Not allowed!
    -Clayton
    2006 Suzuki SV650
    2004 Suzuki Vstrom 650
    2001 Kawasaki ZRX1200R
    2000 Honda CBR929RR
    1982 Honda CB750F Super Sport

  10. #210
    Lifer loudbeard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Rehoboth MA
    Age
    36
    Posts
    3,876

    Re: Cutting the cord....

    Quote Originally Posted by tsorfas View Post
    It seems that my WiFi router Apple AirPort Extreme is getting worse with each update and somehow my range seems to be decreasing? Could it be that I have converted most of my house to a smart home with several devices connected (10+ phones and tablets, 20+ smart light bulbs, 5 computers/laptops, 2 nest thermostats, 2 smart TVs, fire stick, garage opener, door sensors, etc). Looking to finally replace it after 7 years.
    Looks like Archer C4000 is one of the top rated routers. Any feedback/suggestions?
    Another approach, get a 4-port switch off of the modem and split; run one router to handle all of your smart devices (use the old apple for this) and then add a second router to handle your other devices such as streaming TV. The old router with all of the home automation crap doesn't need instantaneous response time to 20 something devices, you're not switching anything that can't wait a few seconds. Funnel your on demand traffic into the new router (or mesh system.)

    1 Not allowed!
    I went to MMI I know what Im doing here chief

  11. #211
    Lifer TIMMYDUCK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The 14th State Vermont
    Posts
    1,505

    Re: Cutting the cord....

    87 channels now on the M-Hat.

    Still free to all NESR members in good standing .

    Simply PM me.

    0 Not allowed!
    TIMMYDUCK

  12. #212
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Posts
    20

    Re: Cutting the cord....

    Quote Originally Posted by TIMMYDUCK View Post
    87 channels now on the M-Hat.

    Still free to all NESR members in good standing .

    Simply PM me.
    I thought I noticed some new channels yesterday..

    Also the app for Android tv devices is MUCH more user friendly.

    1 Not allowed!

  13. #213
    Lifer tsorfas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    in my own little world...
    Posts
    9,915

    Re: Cutting the cord....

    Quote Originally Posted by TheIglu View Post
    If you have a ton of devices going to a single radio, that radio can only talk to one device at a time.

    If you add in a second radio, it's half the devices per radio.


    Really though, I wouldn't spend a dime on anything until you do some troubleshooting to find the root cause.
    So I got a basic Linksys router of Amazon for $55ish. Connected that to the modem. Then connected the Apple router to the Linksys router. Set up the priority devices on the Linksys router and made the Apple router last in priority. I left things like the printer, some cameras, etc on the Apple router. Hardwired the main TV and Apple TV also. Tablets and phones of people visiting going to the Apple router network. Our stuff goes on the Linksys. Not only my speeds are incredible (yet super inconsistent - I can get from 40 up to 320mbps) on the Linksys but all the other stuff seems to be performing better. The 3 Antenna Linksys gives me coverage in the entire house all the way to my driveway and other parts of my yard.
    I had to unplug it and plug it back in twice but I like the TP app and the speeds with new coverage I’m getting.

    0 Not allowed!

  14. #214
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Posts
    20

    Re: Cutting the cord....

    Any iPhone MadHat users having issues after upgrading to iOS 13? My app force closes when the guide is loading every time now.

    I’ve been in touch with support for two weeks and they say they’re looking into it, but I’m the only one that has notified them of a problem, so I’m wondering if it’s just something wrong on my end. The same thing happens on my wife’s phone FWIW.

    0 Not allowed!

  15. #215
    Senior Member Tas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Jaffrey NH
    Age
    50
    Posts
    747

    Re: Cutting the cord....

    Quote Originally Posted by petro View Post
    Any iPhone MadHat users having issues after upgrading to iOS 13? My app force closes when the guide is loading every time now.

    Iíve been in touch with support for two weeks and they say theyíre looking into it, but Iím the only one that has notified them of a problem, so Iím wondering if itís just something wrong on my end. The same thing happens on my wifeís phone FWIW.
    just updated my ipad and now my MadHat is cutting out......were there any fixes for this yet?

    0 Not allowed!
    2004 SV650
    1979 GS 850GN
    2005 Tt-r125
    LRRS #246 - Central Mass Powersports / Northeast Cycle / Woodcraft

  16. #216
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Posts
    20

    Re: Cutting the cord....

    Quote Originally Posted by Tas View Post
    just updated my ipad and now my MadHat is cutting out......were there any fixes for this yet?
    Negative. Send them an email and let them know - support@madhat.tv

    0 Not allowed!

  17. #217
    Senior Member Tas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Jaffrey NH
    Age
    50
    Posts
    747

    Re: Cutting the cord....

    Thanks for the email address. Sent off my request for help.

    0 Not allowed!
    2004 SV650
    1979 GS 850GN
    2005 Tt-r125
    LRRS #246 - Central Mass Powersports / Northeast Cycle / Woodcraft

  18. #218

    Re: Cutting the cord....

    Don't know if this is regional or not but I've been able to catch NFL games live no matter the channel... Thursday night/Sunday night/Monday night through the Yahoo Sports App on my iphone. Its pretty good quality for a live stream. I haven't tried other sports yet but they did have a soccer game on the other night when a football game ended.

    I was curious if other people have used this app and if they've been able to get it on their Roku or whatever. I can't find the channell. I'm assuming if i get an apple tv or a chromecast i can just send it from my phone to the big tv?

    Also another side question... how can i get wireless headphones for my home tv that will work across all devices... roku app on my phone works for that but i can't use it to watch a blu ray movie from seperate player.

    0 Not allowed!

  19. #219
    Kosher Assassin Stoneman's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Center Barnstead, NH
    Posts
    1,124,386

    Re: Cutting the cord....

    Quote Originally Posted by Stoneman View Post
    Since stepping into the 21st century recently and getting a couple smart TV's, we find ourselves watching cable less & less. We've been researching certain networks, local news & sports options, pay per view choices, etc.

    The two new sets are both Roku, and that covers a lot. I can do without local news to a point, and we've found NECN on Roku - although it's a bit watered down and audio SUCKS with NECN. Big Shirl has found most of the networks she likes on free streaming as well, and can be happy with those. My biggest hang-up so far is NESN though. I *NEED* my Red Sox & Bruins LIVE.

    I guess my question is Fubo TV or You Tube TV to start the cord cutting process? If I remember, Fubo currently carries NESN & NECN, which I'm told is a helluvalot better than the NECN broadcast on Roku.
    Soooo...it appears that FuboTV carries most of the channels we feel we'd rather not do without. At $80/month, we could also get a bunch of Showtime channels & 500 hours of cloud DVR. Anyone else currently a Fubo customer? Pros/cons WITH CONTENT?

    0 Not allowed!
    Did you grit your teeth and try to look like Clint Fuckin' Eastwood?
    Or did you lisp it all hangfisted like a fuckin' flower?

  20. #220
    Kosher Assassin Stoneman's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Center Barnstead, NH
    Posts
    1,124,386

    Re: Cutting the cord....

    Quote Originally Posted by Stoneman View Post
    Soooo...it appears that FuboTV carries most of the channels we feel we'd rather not do without. At $80/month, we could also get a bunch of Showtime channels & 500 hours of cloud DVR. Anyone else currently a Fubo customer? Pros/cons WITH CONTENT?
    Probably also going to add a HDTV antenna as well. Between Roku & all the other streaming shit available, this SHOULD cover still more than we need.

    0 Not allowed!
    Did you grit your teeth and try to look like Clint Fuckin' Eastwood?
    Or did you lisp it all hangfisted like a fuckin' flower?

  21. #221
    Burns retinas nhbubba's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Seacoast NH
    Posts
    16,173

    Re: Cutting the cord....

    You're having success with an antenna in Barnstead? I'm south of you and can't get shit.

    0 Not allowed!

  22. #222
    Kosher Assassin Stoneman's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Center Barnstead, NH
    Posts
    1,124,386

    Re: Cutting the cord....

    Quote Originally Posted by Stoneman View Post
    Probably also going to add a HDTV antenna as well. Between Roku & all the other streaming shit available, this SHOULD cover still more than we need.
    Quote Originally Posted by nhbubba View Post
    You're having success with an antenna in Barnstead? I'm south of you and can't get shit.
    Read what I posted again.

    However, there are a few around me that have had surprisingly good luck with them.

    0 Not allowed!
    Did you grit your teeth and try to look like Clint Fuckin' Eastwood?
    Or did you lisp it all hangfisted like a fuckin' flower?

  23. #223
    Lifer loudbeard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Rehoboth MA
    Age
    36
    Posts
    3,876

    Re: Cutting the cord....

    I'm pretty happy with YTTV still, we've been on it since March. There are some things that I miss from traditional providers....numbered channels being one. I like being able to just punch in "206" and go right to ESPN without opening the guide and scrolling to it. Also, the "previous channel" function doesn't exist in YTTV (maybe it does in others?) I never realized how much I used those things until they were gone.

    That said, I have much more use for the extra $75 in my bank account every month.

    1 Not allowed!
    I went to MMI I know what Im doing here chief

  24. #224
    Lifer RyanNicholson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Canterbury, NH
    Age
    34
    Posts
    3,488

    Re: Cutting the cord....

    Quote Originally Posted by loudbeard View Post
    I'm pretty happy with YTTV still, we've been on it since March. There are some things that I miss from traditional providers....numbered channels being one. I like being able to just punch in "206" and go right to ESPN without opening the guide and scrolling to it. Also, the "previous channel" function doesn't exist in YTTV (maybe it does in others?) I never realized how much I used those things until they were gone.

    That said, I have much more use for the extra $75 in my bank account every month.
    Does YTTV pretty much cover any normal use/channels/local stuff we'd get with our moderate package through comcast? We pay a fairly stupid amount and catch ourselves watching the same old bullshit on cable, even though we also have Netflix and Hulu... just out of convenience and background noise.

    I obviously haven't done the research yet.

    0 Not allowed!

  25. #225
    Angry Gumball RandyO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Farmington, NH
    Age
    67
    Posts
    13,149

    Re: Cutting the cord....

    Quote Originally Posted by Stoneman View Post
    Probably also going to add a HDTV antenna as well. Between Roku & all the other streaming shit available, this SHOULD cover still more than we need.
    what are you expecting to get, 8,9 & 11 ?

    Iv'e been thinking of a HD antenna as well, bad location for 9 & 11, but would hope for 6, 8 & 13

    0 Not allowed!
    RandyO
    IBA#9560
    A man with a gun is a citizen
    A man without a gun is a subject

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •