Welcome to NESR! Most features of this site require registration, including replying to threads, sending private messages, starting new threads, and uploading files. Click here to register.

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Do I need an electrician or an HVAC person?

  1. #1
    Posting Freak
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    989

    Do I need an electrician or an HVAC person?


    So, a few months ago I installed a NEST thermostat which soon after It would throw an error that it was not getting a signal in one of the wires (Power wire Rh detected but no connection to equipment). Is this something an HVAC person can help me figure out? Not sure who I should be calling. Thanks!

    0 Not allowed!
    Street Triple R, Ducati Scrambler Icon, Monster 1100evo, VFR, CRF250L/M, CRF230L

  2. #2
    Lifer isaac_'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Central CT
    Posts
    1,055

    Re: Do I need an electrician or an HVAC person?

    Quote Originally Posted by dankatz View Post
    So, a few months ago I installed a NEST thermostat which soon after It would throw an error that it was not getting a signal in one of the wires (Power wire Rh detected but no connection to equipment). Is this something an HVAC person can help me figure out? Not sure who I should be calling. Thanks!
    I'd argue an HVAC that installs NEST thermostats should be able to help you.

    1 Not allowed!
    Isaac LRRS/CCS #871 ECK Racing | Spears Enterprises | GMD Computrack Boston | Pine Motorparts/PBE Specialists | Woodcraft | Street & Competition | MTag-Pirelli | OnTrack Media
    Bike: SV650, Bride of Frankenstein

  3. #3
    Posting Freak
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    989

    Re: Do I need an electrician or an HVAC person?

    Quote Originally Posted by isaac_ View Post
    I'd argue an HVAC that installs NEST thermostats should be able to help you.
    I didn't know that installing a NEST thermostat requires any specific skill. It seems pretty straight forward and the instructions are excellent. Once installed, I got this error. I'll find a local HVAC person and ask him to install it/diagnose the problem

    0 Not allowed!
    Street Triple R, Ducati Scrambler Icon, Monster 1100evo, VFR, CRF250L/M, CRF230L

  4. #4
    Lifer loudbeard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Rehoboth MA
    Age
    36
    Posts
    3,553

    Re: Do I need an electrician or an HVAC person?

    HVAC tech is the one you're looking for, most decent ones have been to the NEST class.

    1 Not allowed!
    I went to MMI I know what Im doing here chief

  5. #5
    Lifer 01xj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    CT
    Age
    33
    Posts
    1,325

    Re: Do I need an electrician or an HVAC person?

    I had this problem with an older forced hot air furnace/ central air combo. I had an HVAC tech come out and he fixed it in minimal time for me.

    1 Not allowed!

  6. #6
    Posting Freak
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    989

    Re: Do I need an electrician or an HVAC person?

    Any recommendations in the Brookline/Newton/West Roxbury area? Thanks for the advise.

    0 Not allowed!
    Street Triple R, Ducati Scrambler Icon, Monster 1100evo, VFR, CRF250L/M, CRF230L

  7. #7
    Lifer Kurlon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Waterboro ME
    Age
    41
    Posts
    12,445

    Re: Do I need an electrician or an HVAC person?

    On paper, NESTs are easy to install. In reality, they're fussy little bitches about some details.

    1 Not allowed!
    771 Racing -=- FaceBook
    Backed by Heroic Racing Apparel
    A-ko - 1992 FZR400RR SP / Mistake - 1992 WR250ZD / Facade - 2003 YZF-R6 / 2000 LS650P

  8. #8
    Lifer 01xj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    CT
    Age
    33
    Posts
    1,325

    Re: Do I need an electrician or an HVAC person?

    Not sure about the newer models, but one thing I didn't like about Nest is that there was no simple "off" setting. I just wanted to set a temperature and have the ac or heat run until it met it's desired temp. Most of the spring and fall my house is comfortable with the windows open and house fan on, and I was always fighting with it's "learning" feature. This was 6 years ago now, I'm not sure if they have changed things. Just my take away. My honeywell has AC, Heat, and System Off, which is exactly what worked better for me.

    0 Not allowed!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •