Welcome to NESR! Most features of this site require registration, including replying to threads, sending private messages, starting new threads, and uploading files. Click here to register.

Experience with Reverse Mortgages?

Lifer

Experience with Reverse Mortgages?

I am exploring this option for my parents. I've done all the research so I don't need opinions on other options, why RMs may be bad, etc. I am wondering if anyone has had a positive (or negative) experience with a particular provider. Thanks.

0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

Re: Experience with Reverse Mortgages?

I work as a mortgage lender and refer out reverses to:
    C. Joseph Mustone
    NMLS License # 167586
    Reverse Mortgage Consultant
    Off. 781-344-4846
    Fax 781-344-1841
    jmustone@4cfc.com

He's been in the business for quite a while. He's knowledgeable and will be happy to answer any and all questions you may have. Reverses have a bad rep but they're in all actuality an excellent product and option if explained properly. Best of luck.

Mike Caras- Guaranteed Rate

Lifer

Thanks very much. Is he just local - they're out in western MA?

1 Not allowed! Not allowed!

He's licensed for all of MA. His company is out of Stoughton but he lives in Gloucester. He will work anywhere in MA though.

Sometimes these get played as if they are a scam, and I'm sure there are some unscrupulous people in the business selling them in inappropriate situations.

But if your parents are well enough to live in their home and need to liquidate some of the equity they've built up to live a little better then it is an idea that makes perfect sense. I would only advise that you work with them to understand the basics of money and time. The more you take each month, the less time it will last.