Welcome to NESR! Most features of this site require registration, including replying to threads, sending private messages, starting new threads, and uploading files. Click here to register.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Help with carpentry questions

Help with carpentry questions

As you are about to see, I am a beginner in this particular domain. Here goes:

I am trying to update Mrs number9's office slightly. She wants to add beadboard (which comes in nice 24"x36" sheets) and a simple chair rail to the walls. Originally I was going to hire this out on Taskrabbit or something, but I'd actually like to learn how to do this so I bought a table saw to give it a go. (I already had a nail gun and a compressor from other projects years ago.)

I'm having two issues, which are related. What should I do to improve?

1. The table saw's top expands to rip about a 27" board; anything wider than that and the fence won't mount properly. If I need to rip a board that's 30", is my best option to rip two 15" boards (or a 28" and a 2", whatever) in order to make sure that the rips are as close to straight as possible and then sand & caulk the join? Or do I need to go out and buy a circular saw?
    2. I ripped three different 9" boards and grew increasingly angry that none of them fit the gap properly... until I realized that the (existing) baseboards are not perfectly 90° with respect to the walls. Should I cut a board to 10" and then scribe it to the wall to get the exact shape & cut it down, or is there a better way to do this?

The tough thing about this is that I'm trying to learn & improve as I go, but I also don't want it to look like dogshit.

0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Last edited by number9; 09-13-21 at 06:34 PM.
    '02 Ducati 998, '08 Ducati HyperMotard 1100S, '14 Subaru XV Crosstrek

Re: Help with carpentry questions

You're talking about the faux beadboard that is hardboard, patterned to look like beadboard?