Welcome to NESR! Most features of this site require registration, including replying to threads, sending private messages, starting new threads, and uploading files. Click here to register.

Hiring an Electrician.

Hiring an Electrician.

Have you done it? Would you not agree to $1000 a day? If not. Why? Curious of you DIY's and what you think is appropriate and why.

0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Jay
    2013 gixxer 750
    2009 Ducati M1100s
    2017 KTM exc-f 350

Re: Hiring an Electrician.

Just had most of our house rewired. He came over the first time and came up with a scope or work then gave us his estimate and cost of material. I would never agree to a fixed price per day. I didn't want to diy any of it because it was a lot of troubleshooting work that involved circuits spliced and wonky shit like that.

1 Not allowed! Not allowed!

I worked as a telecom apprentice last summer and worked under a master electrician for most of it. He did a TON of side work on his own and he would give people a fixed price on jobs and that included the cost of materials and estimated time, I never heard of him talk about price per day though and 1000 bucks does sound steep, Even if he were to bring 6 guys with him daily there's still too much that can be taken advantage of because electrical work is so tedious, and I'd be careful doing anything on your own especially anything that involves a panel lol. I seen more than a couple melt because of misuse. Good luck though I can give you that guys number if you can't find anyone else. He works a lot in your area and would have no problem answering any more specific questions.

Quote Originally Posted by Jayspeed View Post
    Have you done it? Would you not agree to $1000 a day? If not. Why? Curious of you DIY's and what you think is appropriate and why.