Welcome to NESR! Most features of this site require registration, including replying to threads, sending private messages, starting new threads, and uploading files. Click here to register.

Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast

Intermittent Fasting

Re: Intermittent Fasting

Quote Originally Posted by Jason P. View Post
    I have been practicing IF for about 3 years now and have pretty much incorporated into my lifestyle.

At first it was tough, always hungry, my focus wasn't on my work, but rather food. After about two weeks my body just got used to it.

A lot of the misconception about fasting is that you are STARVING YOURSELF. Which is untrue. You simply are making a change to the time of WHEN you eat, not necessarily WHAT you eat.
    IF just prolongs your fasting and helps your body not release insulin, which happens when it is metabolizing food, which makes it dip into fat reserves for energy.

My schedule when I first start IF with cardio/weight training:

+ Fast five days a week
    + Fast from 9pm (last meal) - 1pm (first meal)
    + Intake of liquids only during fast period (black coffee, water, tea) and ABSOLUTELY nothing with sugar
    + Workout in between fasting period (5am gym time)
    + Ate fewer meals, but matched the caloric intake

After about 1.5 months of this I went from 182lbs to 167lbs. My body looked great, but most importantly the mental aspect of it was a plus. Mentally I felt better, happier, more energetic. My focus was sharp now that I didn't think about food all the time. It became a meal of nutrition rather than something I had to have every day. Though, sometimes I do fast for 24 hours. Take everything with a grain of salt though. I tried Keto, Atkins and a myriad of other diet, but IF simply works best for me.