Welcome to NESR! Most features of this site require registration, including replying to threads, sending private messages, starting new threads, and uploading files. Click here to register.

Results 1 to 13 of 13

Repurposing an old security system?

  1. #1
    Super Moderator OreoGaborio's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    MA
    Age
    42
    Posts
    38,026

    Repurposing an old security system?


    We've got an older ADT system (built in '99 or shortly after) with a Honeywell ADEMCO Vista-10SE panel and an ADEMCO 6128 Keypad. The whole house is wired up with door and window contacts, a motion sensor for the main living area and the smokes are tied into it as well... Would love to modernize it and breath some life back into it so trying to learn a bit more about how we could do that.

    Been doin some googling, but wondering if anyone's done it themselves before & could help me learn some stuff that teh googlez hasn't learned me yet.

    Kinda funny how I can make a living maintaining an access control system that's a gazillion times larger than this one for a global financial institution, but I can't figure out how to revamp a dinky little ADT system with maybe 15-20 contacts.

    We do NOT have a home phone line... just wifi... so it would probably just be a standalone unit unless we figured out a way to make all smart n stuffs but I'm not lookin to spend a fortune here either.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Last edited by OreoGaborio; 12-27-21 at 11:13 AM.
    -Pete LRRS/CCS #82 - ECK Racing, TonysTrackDays
    GMD Computrack Boston | Pine Motorparts/PBE Specialists | Phoenix Graphics | Woodcraft | MTag-Pirelli | OnTrack Media

    The Garage: '03 Tuono | '06 SV650

  2. #2
    Lifer
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    holland ma.
    Posts
    1,678

    Re: Repurposing an old security system?

    Without spending too much time thinking about it, my first go to idea is to ditch all the controls and concentrate on a way to use the existing sensors that are already in place. There is probably a control center you can buy that replaces your old one with something more modern with minimum effort.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  3. #3
    suburban ghetto living... black's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Wilmington, MA
    Age
    47
    Posts
    1,959

    Re: Repurposing an old security system?

    Idk about repurposing

    It will be about 350? With new contacts sensors for an Abode system

    I'm happy with mine
    200$ yrly monitoring fee. No phone line just wifi

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  4. #4
    Super Moderator OreoGaborio's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    MA
    Age
    42
    Posts
    38,026

    Re: Repurposing an old security system?

    Quote Originally Posted by boosten lebaron View Post
    Without spending too much time thinking about it, my first go to idea is to ditch all the controls and concentrate on a way to use the existing sensors that are already in place. There is probably a control center you can buy that replaces your old one with something more modern with minimum effort.
    Yeah that's along the lines of what I was thinking.

    Quote Originally Posted by black View Post
    Idk about repurposing

    It will be about 350? With new contacts sensors for an Abode system

    I'm happy with mine
    200$ yrly monitoring fee. No phone line just wifi
    Yeah I think 3-350ish is about the most I would wanna spend on a re-vamp. Originally I was just going to self monitor, but 200/year isn't too terrible I guess. Certainly better than the 50 something per month that ADT wanted.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Last edited by OreoGaborio; 12-24-21 at 12:01 PM.
    -Pete LRRS/CCS #82 - ECK Racing, TonysTrackDays
    GMD Computrack Boston | Pine Motorparts/PBE Specialists | Phoenix Graphics | Woodcraft | MTag-Pirelli | OnTrack Media

    The Garage: '03 Tuono | '06 SV650

  5. #5
    Lifer
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Milton, MA
    Age
    56
    Posts
    1,235

    Re: Repurposing an old security system?

    We have a very similar issue. When we moved in 10 years ago the system wasn't working. Had all new sensors put in. Now we just want to upgrade the board - no one seems to have the components due to the shortage of chips.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Last edited by Bonk!; 12-25-21 at 03:02 PM.

  6. #6
    Lifer typeone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    central MA
    Age
    48
    Posts
    7,306

    Re: Repurposing an old security system?

    i also have an older ADT system we deactivated a while ago that i've been meaning to repurpose ... my plan is to use a kit from Konnected.io

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Beta 200RR

  7. #7

    Re: Repurposing an old security system?

    Those old Ademco panels were extremely popular, and often integrated with 3rd party systems. You can get quite advanced functionality in this way.

    https://www.houselogix.com/docs/HSIM...structions.pdf
    https://www.alarmdecoder.com/index.php

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  8. #8
    Super Moderator OreoGaborio's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    MA
    Age
    42
    Posts
    38,026

    Re: Repurposing an old security system?

    Quote Originally Posted by typeone View Post
    i also have an older ADT system we deactivated a while ago that i've been meaning to repurpose ... my plan is to use a kit from Konnected.io
    Quote Originally Posted by audiojeff View Post
    Those old Ademco panels were extremely popular, and often integrated with 3rd party systems. You can get quite advanced functionality in this way.

    https://www.houselogix.com/docs/HSIM...structions.pdf
    https://www.alarmdecoder.com/index.php
    Well well well... this is relevant to my interests...

    Are you guys able to tell me a little more about what I need to know or learn about my own system to decide what option is best for me & what peripherals I'd need?

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    -Pete LRRS/CCS #82 - ECK Racing, TonysTrackDays
    GMD Computrack Boston | Pine Motorparts/PBE Specialists | Phoenix Graphics | Woodcraft | MTag-Pirelli | OnTrack Media

    The Garage: '03 Tuono | '06 SV650

  9. #9

    Re: Repurposing an old security system?

    The Houselogix HSIM is typically used with commercially available home control systems, like Control4, Clare Controls, Crestron. I also think Compass Control works with this device, and offers DIY support.

    Alarm decoder supports a fair number of open source home automation platforms, Vera2, Hubitat, and Home Assistant included.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  10. #10
    Super Moderator TheIglu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Royalston, MA
    Age
    41
    Posts
    20,858

    Re: Repurposing an old security system?

    I put in a Honeywell Ademco system in our house.

    Programming can be a little tricky to get used to, but you should be able to use it for a basic system.

    Probably no need to buy new.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    -Clayton
    2021 KTM Duke 890 R
    2006 Suzuki SV650
    1982 Honda CB750F Super Sport

  11. #11
    Super Moderator OreoGaborio's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    MA
    Age
    42
    Posts
    38,026

    Re: Repurposing an old security system?

    But what'd you put in?

    The entire system in my house is Honeywell Ademco, but it's 20+ years old and not connected to anything outside of itself.

    Edit: Just spotted a comment on Reddit eluding to the fact that the Vista-10SE controller that I have is prob too old to enable remote access via mobile device and access other updated features.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Last edited by OreoGaborio; 12-29-21 at 05:46 PM.
    -Pete LRRS/CCS #82 - ECK Racing, TonysTrackDays
    GMD Computrack Boston | Pine Motorparts/PBE Specialists | Phoenix Graphics | Woodcraft | MTag-Pirelli | OnTrack Media

    The Garage: '03 Tuono | '06 SV650

  12. #12
    Super Moderator OreoGaborio's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    MA
    Age
    42
    Posts
    38,026

    Re: Repurposing an old security system?

    www.eyezon.com looks to be another possible option that I'm looking into.

    Again, doesn't look to be compatible with the 10SE, but it looks like you can get a newer Vista 20p with enclosure from amazon for 70 bucks.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Last edited by OreoGaborio; 12-29-21 at 05:47 PM.
    -Pete LRRS/CCS #82 - ECK Racing, TonysTrackDays
    GMD Computrack Boston | Pine Motorparts/PBE Specialists | Phoenix Graphics | Woodcraft | MTag-Pirelli | OnTrack Media

    The Garage: '03 Tuono | '06 SV650

  13. #13

    Re: Repurposing an old security system?

    Quote Originally Posted by OreoGaborio View Post
    www.eyezon.com looks to be another possible option that I'm looking into.

    Again, doesn't look to be compatible with the 10SE, but it looks like you can get a newer Vista 20p with enclosure from amazon for 70 bucks.
    According to the documentation, the HSIM is compatible with the 10SE and the Alarm Decoder is not.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •