Welcome to NESR! Most features of this site require registration, including replying to threads, sending private messages, starting new threads, and uploading files. Click here to register.

Page 2 of 10 FirstFirst 12345678910 LastLast

Wood stove

Re: Wood stove

Yep. Stove is going in the basement, and I guess I shoulda added that square footage to.
    So total area about 1900sqft. So it seems that this stove will be to small? I am a bit new to wood stoves so I am just unsure and want some opinions.

If this one wont do it, have any suggestion what to look for? Cost will be a big factor so I'll be searchin craigslist.
    Brands matter? What size? Blowers needed?.....Yea i'm a bit lost on this one

0 Not allowed!

Quote Originally Posted by nhbubba View Post
    Mostly pine here.. and only 2 acres at that. No way I could reliably heat off this land. But even then, green firewood is comparatively cheap.

You guys make me really wish I could have pulled off a proper wood stove. Just getting the insert out to get to the flue is a half a day project.
    same here, 2acres, (300x300) primarily big sawlog pine, but enuf red maple, beech & oak that I cut 2-4 cords every year for the past 25 years and I still got plenty of hardwood in the understory, also,about every 12 years, I have cut about 10,000 ft of pine, due for another pine harvest this year, only takes a dozen trees the size mine are, this year, I got about 2500ft of hemlock marked too. I'll have a guy come up with a portable mill and make me some roughcut for projects I have planned

0 Not allowed!
    RandyO
    IBA#9560
    A man with a gun is a citizen
    A man without a gun is a subject

How's that woodstove doing in your house on these cold nights?

Mine is chugging down the firewood fast with a stove top temp of 700 at the moment, I have not even turned on the oil heat yet this season. 93 in my basement now, 72 in the house

0 Not allowed!
    Yamaha

A Big Powerful Sportbike