Welcome to NESR! Most features of this site require registration, including replying to threads, sending private messages, starting new threads, and uploading files. Click here to register.

Worth contesting speeding ticket?

Worth contesting speeding ticket?

Long story short: 85 in 55 on Mass Pike EB in Newton at ~1045pm on a Thursday. No alcohol, I was cordial with the Statie (whom was very much NOT nice in any way). As a soon-to-be-official Mass resident, who will likely experience insurance increase just by virtue of moving from the 'burbs to Cambridge, what is the likelihood of getting the ticket reduced or thrown out? I have no experience with MA traffic court or Staties.

0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Bill Cool --- LRRS/CCS EX #47 --- 2018 and 2019 LRRS Double Backup Champion GTL and ULSB, 2012 LRRS Champion AM Thunderbike --- RSP Racing / TTD / MTAG-Pirelli / Woodcraft / Sportbike Track Gear / Brunetto T-Shirts / GMD CompuTrack

Re: Worth contesting speeding ticket?

Always fight. It's 50/50 if you win. Being in the right or in the wrong makes no difference.

1 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    2012 Tiger 800 XC

Btw, the cops are crawling all around that area due to the construction.

2012 Tiger 800 XC

Dic on

Its always worth buying your constitutional right to face your accuser. In Mass that will cost you $50.

There are many factors that influence whether you will be found responsible. Your guilt or innocence is not one of them.

You haven't been caught being a public danger on the highway. You have been caught in the act of moving faster than an arbitrary speed designed specifically to maintain the budget of the state judicial system through fines and insurance company kickbacks.

Consider that when you are deciding whether to appeal to the magistrate and judge.

If you have more than 2 tickets in the past 5 years, I dont rate your chances of walking away from it.