Welcome to NESR! Most features of this site require registration, including replying to threads, sending private messages, starting new threads, and uploading files. Click here to register.

Results 1 to 13 of 13

XP HD files to Vista PC????

  1. #1
    Lifer CMG241's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Windham, NH
    Posts
    1,806

    Question XP HD files to Vista PC????


    My XP Pro pc died, I think it was the processor so I bought a new HP Pavilion with Vista - can I plug the XP HD into the HP as a slave and grab my (ah-hem) music files? My concern is that the HD is going to look for my old pc at boot.
    I do have another XP pc in the garage but I doubt I could swap the HDs and expect it to boot.

    Any ideas?? (I do not belong to a PC Nerd forum so its up to you guys)

    Thanks

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  2. #2
    Unsafe At Any Speeds Jim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    :lurk:
    Posts
    12,104

    Re: XP HD files to Vista PC????

    wont look for the slave HD unless youmodify your boot files to look for other partitions/disks. And after Windows 98SE, you cant boot into other HD's, only other partitions. make sure your slave HDD and primary have jumper pins set to SLAVE, which they should already be done. you'll be all set to grab your "music"

    if you have the time, i'd format your new HD and install Xp Pro back on. I've had some problems finding HP drivers for XP Pro with a PC that came with Vista, but i've done it a few times

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    EX 105 : AMA, ASRA, CCS South East, and WERA
    2014 ASRA SuperStock National Champion - Amateur Division
    Thanks to my sponsors: Motul, Michelin/STS, K&N, Woodcraft, Yoshimura R&D All Balls Racing, Galfer, Sidi Boots, Vortex

  3. #3
    Lifer CMG241's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Windham, NH
    Posts
    1,806

    Re: XP HD files to Vista PC????

    Saved - Thanks Jim!

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  4. #4
    Unsafe At Any Speeds Jim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    :lurk:
    Posts
    12,104

    Re: XP HD files to Vista PC????

    Quote Originally Posted by CMG41 View Post
    Saved - Thanks Jim!


    and Denno, I know you'll see this, so let me save you the trouble:
    Quote Originally Posted by denno
    nerd alert

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    EX 105 : AMA, ASRA, CCS South East, and WERA
    2014 ASRA SuperStock National Champion - Amateur Division
    Thanks to my sponsors: Motul, Michelin/STS, K&N, Woodcraft, Yoshimura R&D All Balls Racing, Galfer, Sidi Boots, Vortex

  5. #5
    Everybody to the limit!
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Winchester, MA
    Age
    39
    Posts
    6,777

    Re: XP HD files to Vista PC????

    Just buy a USB hard drive enclosure (they're like 10 bucks), pop the drive in, load your vista PC, and transfer your music.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  6. #6
    Unsafe At Any Speeds Jim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    :lurk:
    Posts
    12,104

    Re: XP HD files to Vista PC????

    But slave drive would be better if he can't fit it in his ATX case. Could use that as a backup drive, where enclosers are more for temporary.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    EX 105 : AMA, ASRA, CCS South East, and WERA
    2014 ASRA SuperStock National Champion - Amateur Division
    Thanks to my sponsors: Motul, Michelin/STS, K&N, Woodcraft, Yoshimura R&D All Balls Racing, Galfer, Sidi Boots, Vortex

  7. #7
    Lifer Punjistick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Norwell, MA
    Age
    36
    Posts
    2,982

    Re: XP HD files to Vista PC????

    I use one of these.
    http://www.sabrent.com/products/specs/USB-2535.htm
    It works great for all the old crappy HDs I have lying around.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  8. #8
    Lifer CMG241's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Windham, NH
    Posts
    1,806

    Re: XP HD files to Vista PC????

    Quote Originally Posted by Punjistick View Post
    I use one of these.
    http://www.sabrent.com/products/specs/USB-2535.htm
    It works great for all the old crappy HDs I have lying around.
    interesting

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  9. #9
    Unsafe At Any Speeds Jim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    :lurk:
    Posts
    12,104

    Re: XP HD files to Vista PC????

    Quote Originally Posted by Punjistick View Post
    I use one of these.
    http://www.sabrent.com/products/specs/USB-2535.htm
    It works great for all the old crappy HDs I have lying around.
    I've got one of them at work, but mine does 2.5" and 3.5" drives, IDE and SATA. it does the job for getting files, but i would prefer an encloser over this.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    EX 105 : AMA, ASRA, CCS South East, and WERA
    2014 ASRA SuperStock National Champion - Amateur Division
    Thanks to my sponsors: Motul, Michelin/STS, K&N, Woodcraft, Yoshimura R&D All Balls Racing, Galfer, Sidi Boots, Vortex

  10. #10
    Lifer CMG241's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Windham, NH
    Posts
    1,806

    Re: XP HD files to Vista PC????

    not to abuse you guys but how about migrating my paid version of Norton's AV from old to new?

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  11. #11
    Unsafe At Any Speeds Jim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    :lurk:
    Posts
    12,104

    Re: XP HD files to Vista PC????

    what version of Norton are you using? You should be able to just reinstall without license limitations

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    EX 105 : AMA, ASRA, CCS South East, and WERA
    2014 ASRA SuperStock National Champion - Amateur Division
    Thanks to my sponsors: Motul, Michelin/STS, K&N, Woodcraft, Yoshimura R&D All Balls Racing, Galfer, Sidi Boots, Vortex

  12. #12
    Lifer Punjistick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Norwell, MA
    Age
    36
    Posts
    2,982

    Re: XP HD files to Vista PC????

    Quote Originally Posted by DBConz View Post
    I've got one of them at work, but mine does 2.5" and 3.5" drives, IDE and SATA. it does the job for getting files, but i would prefer an encloser over this.
    I also prefer enclosures and use them on my 200+GB drives which I use to backup my computer with. I use the IDE to USB thingy for my small 7 or 10GB drives which I use to hold stupid programs I don't feel like downloading again if my computer crashes and I have to reformat.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  13. #13
    Unsafe At Any Speeds Jim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    :lurk:
    Posts
    12,104

    Re: XP HD files to Vista PC????

    i used mine to wipe a pile of of HDD's that I took out of PII's that I threw out

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    EX 105 : AMA, ASRA, CCS South East, and WERA
    2014 ASRA SuperStock National Champion - Amateur Division
    Thanks to my sponsors: Motul, Michelin/STS, K&N, Woodcraft, Yoshimura R&D All Balls Racing, Galfer, Sidi Boots, Vortex

Similar Threads

  1. VISTA
    By richw in forum Off-Topic
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-15-07, 09:07 AM
  2. Vista
    By TheIglu in forum Off-Topic
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 07-10-07, 08:59 PM
  3. what do you use to extract rar files?
    By breakdirt916 in forum Off-Topic
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-23-07, 05:30 PM
  4. The 9/11 Files
    By LowSider in forum Controversial Topics
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 03-28-06, 03:44 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •