Welcome to NESR! Most features of this site require registration, including replying to threads, sending private messages, starting new threads, and uploading files. Click here to register.

Going to the dark side

Going to the dark side

Hey guys,

After some thought I decided not to buy a new streetbike for the upcoming season but a dirtbike instead...Reason being is it will be a lot cheaper (in a sense) and I deploy in late June so I will atleast have a little time to have some fun and not feel like I am missing the summer street scene.

My question is what should I get? Brands to stay away from? 250/450? Things I need to checkout while inspecting?

Texas has A LOT of trails even Fort Hood has its own MX park. I have ridden dirtbikes in the past but have never owned one of my own. I dont know if my height or weight matters for dirtbikes but im 6'1 215. I was looking at a few 06 CRF 450s ranging from 2500-3000. I would like to stay around 3k. Whadya think? I am a complete noob when it comes to this but I really want to try something new. Thanks

0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    http://www.nestreetriders.com/forum/signaturepics/sigpic306_2.gif

Re: Going to the dark side

First things first...do you want a 2 stroke or 4 stroke? Or do you have no preference? How open is the riding area that you would be using? Tight or open?

-Christian LRRS/CCS HasBeen ECK Racing
    2011 Pit Bike Race CHAMPION!

no preference on the 2 stroke or 4 stroke...Since TX is mostly ranch land a lot of the people here transform thier land into off road parks so the riding area really varies depending what the landowner has done...I figured I would start off riding in open areas since I am in a learning phase.

I'd post this same question on thumpertalk.com/forum or read some threads in the "what bike should I buy?" section

the dirty bastards section here is small, so the responses are going to be limited to what we've ridden, and it's not always accurate, or applicable to all riders haha