Welcome to NESR! Most features of this site require registration, including replying to threads, sending private messages, starting new threads, and uploading files. Click here to register.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thumb brakes

Thumb brakes

Does anyone use or have experience with a thumb rear brake on their dirty ride? I've been mulling over the idea since I started riding dirt. My feet at big and uncoordinated and I like to stand on my toes while riding so my rear brakes seem to to get used less than they really should. I see kits for about $300 which would be well worth it if they work as advertised. Any info is appreciated.

0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    LRRS EX 151 AMSOIL

JCBernier -- You-tube

Re: Thumb brakes

That seems like a bad idea to me. I think modifying your lever so you can get to it is a better idea. And just learning to shift your feet.

-Christian LRRS/CCS HasBeen ECK Racing
    2011 Pit Bike Race CHAMPION!

That shit's for stunters. Grip and rip.

A man of many names...Jay, Gennaro, Gerry, etc.

ive been thinking about this mod as well for my woods bike.

looked at the Rekluse and one other company (forget the name). they use a finger lever rather than a thumb though.

Beta 200RR

I've only seen videos...looks pretty cool

imho - even if you get feedback from people, you're only going to know if it works by trying it yourself. And unfortunately you're only way of trying is to buy it...so it's a money/risk to "try it out" - I usually don't take that route, so I'd recommend what smutty mentioned