Welcome to NESR! Most features of this site require registration, including replying to threads, sending private messages, starting new threads, and uploading files. Click here to register.

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Beginner and Intermediate group Peeps.. What do you want to learn at a trackday?

Beginner and Intermediate group Peeps.. What do you want to learn at a trackday?

Just thought I would open some discussion that would help me (and possibly others) become a better Instructor.

I am an MSF instructor and I ride/Instruct with the Intermediate group. I try to work with people on refining the line and picking up markers (brake, turn in, throttle). "Also gas sooner, brake later" is always good. I do not work in a faster group because I feel having a little in reserve when instructing is a good thing.

One of the biggest things I see is people braking WAY to early in 1, 3, 6, 9, 11 and not carrying the corner speed they could.

They are all GREAT at blasting down the straights though!

What would YOU like help with at your next trackday? What parts of the track do you find the toughest (NHMS) and why do you find them tough?

0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Last edited by Doc; 06-17-10 at 03:10 PM.
    "I'd rather ride a slow bike fast than a fast bike slow"
    Bikes: Ducati: 748 (Track) Honda: RC31 (Race/street)/ CRF 110 Mini Moto/ Hawk Endurance Racer Kawasaki: ZXR1200R
    BOMO Instructor
    EX# X

Re: Beginner and Intermediate group Peeps.. What do you want to learn at a trackday?

for me the toughest sections are giong into turn 3 i brake at like the 2-3rd cone but feel like im slowing down too much but i feel as if i cant brake any later than that without getting in trouble. than the bottom of the bowl going in and coming out just seems like im coasting more than accelataring again feeling like if i go in faster it might be too hot any advice would be great!!!!!

and yeah the straight i have no problems with it lol l/k