Welcome to NESR! Most features of this site require registration, including replying to threads, sending private messages, starting new threads, and uploading files. Click here to register.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

First Track Bike?

Re: First Track Bike?

Quote Originally Posted by DJ1991 View Post
    I'm in a situation where I will need it to be a street/track bike because I don't have any space for a second bike or trailer at the moment.
    Is this going to be primarily a track bike you'll occasionally ride on the street, or vise versa?

Quote Originally Posted by DJ1991 View Post
    I have done only one track day and that was on my road bike which is an 08 600rr. It's in great condition and has never been laid down. I've been riding it on NH back roads for a few years and have nothing but good things to say about it. However like RADA said when I took it to my first track day which was at Canaan I was super paranoid about laying it down. Having payed 5000 + for it I couldn't help but think how nice it would be to have a slightly lower powered bike with a bit less value to cure some of that worry, Especially being a novice at the track.
    Are you the type who wouldn't mind "downgrading" to a 300 or a 650 on the street?

Realistically, your 08 CBR600 is worth $4000 max now. You could get a $3-4000 SV650 that's set up well for track, but it'll be tough to find one with street bits on it. For a bike to not be paranoid about crashing, it's probably not going to be pretty - if you don't mind riding a beater on the street, that's one thing.

0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

My experience with tires:
    I could wail on my motard full gas and need to replace the tires every few race weekends at 4 races and 4 practices a weekend. I'd say a weekend was equal to a track days worth of time. This was basically full gas all the time. I'd assume the 300s are similar.