Welcome to NESR! Most features of this site require registration, including replying to threads, sending private messages, starting new threads, and uploading files. Click here to register.

Avoiding left-turning cars - the "Anti-SMIDSY Manuever"

Avoiding left-turning cars - the "Anti-SMIDSY Manuever"

Posted this video before but it's important enough to have its' own thread.

The Brits have an expression for the most common form of multi-vehicle accident: "Sorry Mate, I didn't See You" or SMIDSY.

The Hurt Report detailed how left-turning cars that did not see an approaching motorcyclist account for more than half of multi-vehicle crashes involving motorcycles when other factors (alcohol, etc) are removed.

If you are impatient but want a technique to help reduce the likelihood of this happening to you, go to the 5:00 mark of the video.

I've been doing the same thing since 1985, when I lived in a small town [Marblehead] with a lot of side streets and commuted through Salem to Beverly - ditto.

Tried everything: different colored helmets and jackets, waving, flashing headlights - without much effect. Tried the weave, it worked, and been doing it since. The video explains why: it minimizes the physiological effect of "Looming."

7 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Last edited by Garandman; 09-01-12 at 07:46 AM.

Re: Avoiding left-turning cars - the "Anti-SMIDSY Manuever"

Interesting.

0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    2012 Tiger 800 XC

Great tip!!
    And the aptly named Marbleheader got one of my bikes too.

The ANTI-SMIDSY works. I practice it. Funny thing is, you do it, the car sees you, and is annoyed by your hot doggy swerving! LOL

I have long held an additional theory that adds to the "Looming" danger:

In the primitive subconscious (lizard brain) of the cagers, a horizontally oriented object (truck, car) is a potential closing threat. A vertically oriented object (tree, power pole, motorcycle) is fixed, not a threat, and ignored.