Welcome to NESR! Most features of this site require registration, including replying to threads, sending private messages, starting new threads, and uploading files. Click here to register.

selling a bike with a loan questions

Lifer

selling a bike with a loan questions

I will be home for the next couple weeks and I'm looking to sell a few of my bikes before I head out to Europe again. My r1 still has a small loan on it that I can pay off but I won't get the title back before I have to leave again. I figured just selling it and haveing the buyer payoff the loan is my best bet but I have never done it before. Is it an easy process if I financed through Yamaha or is the buyer and myself going to jump through hoops? I'm going to sell it pretty cheap-ish just to get it gone and I am hoping a buyer will be willing to deal with the loan payoff if the price is right.
    I really have no idea how the whole process works. I'm guessing the buyer calls the bank and pays off my loan balance and the title goes directly to them or is it more complex than that? If I don't sell it in the next few weeks it will spend another year in storage dying.

0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

Re: selling a bike with a loan questions

Best bet is to work out an arrangement with the lien holder. Pay off the loan asap and then have them overnight the title to you.

Selling a vehicle without a title in hand adds a huge layer of difficulty and will turn off a lot of potential buyers.