Welcome to NESR! Most features of this site require registration, including replying to threads, sending private messages, starting new threads, and uploading files. Click here to register.

If It Doesn't Kill You It Makes You......

If It Doesn't Kill You It Makes You......

.........supposedly stronger, but I'm not so sure of that.

First off, some background. I've been riding and doing track days for many years. In that time I've never had any serious crashes or serious injuries other than a broken wrist in 2022 - it started pouring rain at a track day and I just didn't dial it back fast enough. Lesson learned

Anyway, back in Sept I was at a track day at Club Motorsports in NH. Tremendous track, 16 turns and incredible elevation change per lap, good runoff, it makes for a great day on two wheels. Well, something happened. I have no idea what. Because whatever happened knocked out my short term memory until early November. My long term memory was just fine - family/friends would come to visit me in the hospital and I remembered them, knew their names, we'd have a conversation. At least that's what they tell me, I don't remember any of it cause, you know, my short term was not working

There were a number of other injuries - traumatic brain injury, broken wrists, broken jaw, pulmonary embolism. I was airlifted from the track, transferred to larger hospitals in NH until the largest determined I needed more than they could provide and was moved to Mass General in Boston which is fairly close to home. The care I received there was incredible, I cannot say enough about the doctors, nurses, techs, everyone really.

Been back at work for a while now, excited about it and feeling really great about normal everyday things. I'm not riding this year, my neurologist told me that a 2nd traumatic brain injury within a year of the first has a much greater chance of permanent brain damage. I'd like to avoid that

A few things to mention that you already know -