Welcome to NESR! Most features of this site require registration, including replying to threads, sending private messages, starting new threads, and uploading files. Click here to register.

Title stuff, VIN check?

Title stuff, VIN check?

I put money down for a bike today, the deal gets completed tomorrow. The title, though, is not in the name of the guy I'm buying it off of. He has it, I looked it over. It looks legit. He says he bought it off his buddy but ended up never registering it since he's just going to go a different route and buy a new bike. I got the vin number, I'd like to do a check but not sure where I could get it done before tomorrow evening. I found the ad in CL.

Does anything about this sound fishy? It doesn't seem all that much to me but then I'm pretty new to buying vehicles myself in general. I got a real decent deal, though it being slightly older and rashed on one fairing.

0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

Just Registered

Title stuff, VIN check?

real decent deal + your not having a VIN# to check = fishy to me...

Title stuff, VIN check?

Originally posted by somestrangeguy
    real decent deal + your not having a VIN# to check = fishy to me...
    I have the VIN. I just don't know where to go about doing a check, is what I'm saying.

Title stuff, VIN check?

Be careful of the title, because possibly it has been signed by the buyer aka as the seller in this case???? making it not usable by you. He would have to apply for a new title and then wait for it in order to sell the bike to you.

VIN just call the police dept.

2001 RC51!!!
    2007 Husky SMR 510 - no longer... blown tranny

I kick hippies...and Kham Nikon's Avatar

Title stuff, VIN check?

Originally posted by snowborder
    VIN just call the police dept.
    Just tell them you want to know if the bike is stolen and they should run it.

Bras cause cancer.

Title stuff, VIN check?

when i did mine i called the DMV

02 R1
    06 WRX STi Sold
    01 RC51-STOLEN