Welcome to NESR! Most features of this site require registration, including replying to threads, sending private messages, starting new threads, and uploading files. Click here to register.

Tard Stuff

Tard Stuff

I need help with all things Motard related... although I've been riding motorcycles for 8 years, I haven't been on a dirtbike since I was 13... and I don't know a whole lot about them.

My Pops wants to get into racing and is considering doing the 'tard thing.

So...a couple of questions that first come to mind:

1 - Best bike to start with (do you need a 450 to race, will any 450 do)?
    2 - What does it take to turn a stock 450 into a race 450
    (I am asking about passing tech/being safe/what is needed to put it on the track, not all-out the fastest ever, top of the line everything)?
    3 - What races are Motard's eligible for (any other than race #2 on Sunday)?
    4 - Anybody have one for sale or know somebody who does?
    5 - Anything he should consider specific to Motard vs. racing a different type of bike?

His main reason for leaning towards a Motard is riding position (he's getting close to 60yo with a bad back), and maybe the ability to switch it back to dirty riding.

TIA

0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    ~that which doth not kill me can only make me stronger~

LRRS / CCS - #103

Re: Tard Stuff

1: a 450 is better than a 250. At the novice level a stock motor is fine.
    2: terd wheels. Safety wire brakes, oil, axles, couple of catch cans.
    3:mine can run most of the lw, and ul stuff. Nhms wouldn't recognize it for ss, though. Even though the airbox is stock.
    4: nope
    5: I'm a noob. Take answers 1-4 with regard to that. It's alot of fun.

Cliff's Cycles KTM
    NETRA enduro B-vet
    Close your eyes, look deep in your soul, step outside yourself and let your mind go.

Quote Originally Posted by tsanterre View Post

1 - Best bike to start with (do you need a 450 to race, will any 450 do)?