Welcome to NESR! Most features of this site require registration, including replying to threads, sending private messages, starting new threads, and uploading files. Click here to register.

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

My mini review of my new crossplane R1.

Re: My mini review of my new crossplane R1.

Zombie thread... I know, but I just had to say that I couldn't disagree more with the OP's overall review.

I just upgraded to a 2012 Yamaha R1 from a Suzuki SV1000 (Which I still have), and I absolutely love almost everything about this bike. I've never been so happy or filled with joy from any vehicle or purchase I've ever made in my life as I am with this thing. I'm not sure what kind of bike the OP is coming from prior to getting the R1, but I actually found the compression braking on this things to be very minimal compared to what I am used to... then again, I have very little experience with other inline-4's except for two or 3 occasions where I've ridden R6's that my friends had for a quick little rip around the block. I find the motor to be extremely smooth at all RPM's and the bike is amazingly intuitive to ride. I often go on 3 or 4 hour rides with no stops other than fuel fill-ups and there has been no vibration-related discomfort that I can report yet. The traction control system is also fantastic and does a great job of keeping things sorted out without being invasive... which so far has only really factored in with wheelie control. The clutch is a bit uneven with it's biting action from a complete standstill, but I've discovered that this is more noticeable when the bike is not yet fully warmed up and doesn't seem as bad after a few miles of riding. I'm no Valentino Rossi, but this thing is incredibly well balanced and I'm very impressed with how it handles despite it's chunky weight as listed on paper. I don't really notice the weight at all when riding or even when walking it backwards out of a parking spot. The fit and finish is marvelous and the exh