Welcome to NESR! Most features of this site require registration, including replying to threads, sending private messages, starting new threads, and uploading files. Click here to register.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Winterizing a bike?

Winterizing a bike?

Given I'm new to the whole sub-zero temperature thing, I was just wondering what NESR folks do for winterizing their bikes? I'm sure there's a pantload of links on teh intarweb but I thought I'd get real peoples' opinions...

Drain the fuel tank completely, or fill it up & use a stabilizer? Drain brake fluid or just flush it when winter is over? Take wheels & tyres off and leave them somewhere warm? Trickle-charge battery or take it out & leave it somewhere warm?

That's all I can think of now

0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

Winterizing a bike?

put knobbies on the rims, ice screws in the knobbies and take it out on a frozen lake, ride it year round.

12 Vstrom 1000
    09 KLR 650
    09 Yamaha WR450F (street legal)

(hers)
    13 Vstrom 650ADV
    08 Yamaha WR250F(street legal )
    09 KLR650

Winterizing a bike?

Well for me, I am filling the tank, putting in stabilizer, then parking in it my friends heated basement

Winterizing a bike?

I've got a bulkhead going down into my basement with a decent set of stairs, and I'm actually planning on tearing the bike down completely and rebuilding/rewiring it this winter, so what I'm going to do is strap the bike down to a sheet of plywood, tie a rope off to the plywood, and slide it down the stairs, and vice versa come spring time.

Then I a) dont have to work on it in the garage in the nut freezing cold, and b) warm winter storage.

At least theoretically it will slide up/down the stairs. Gravity wins all the time, so it will definitely go DOWN, if need be, it will just come back up the stairs in pieces.

Winterizing a bike?

Put stabil in the tank and go for a short ride to get the stabil in the whole fuel system, then top off the tank.