Welcome to NESR! Most features of this site require registration, including replying to threads, sending private messages, starting new threads, and uploading files. Click here to register.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Halp! Superduke 990, Aprilia Tuono V4 or Speed Triple?

Halp! Superduke 990, Aprilia Tuono V4 or Speed Triple?

I’m trying to get back into riding instead of buying old BMW’s to mess around with and sell. My fiancé kinda co-signed saying she’d like to go for rides too when we don’t have the kids. So I’m gonna sell my R75/6 and the sidecar frame on it that I haven’t even ridden at all except for around the yard and get something newer (but def used).

I’m trying to decide what is best out of these 3 bikes that I have no experience riding. All will be bought used. I am not planning on doing my touring just weekday runs hopefully some track days by myself and the occasional weekend date with my fiancé so I want it to be sporty but semi comfortable (maybe hour or two rides not like touring) for her.

I always wanted these three bikes. I’ve been into twins forever, I always was interested in the V4 platform and the speed triple always grabs my attention.

My qualms outside of not knowing if they’re brutal for a passenger:

KTM 990 Superduke or Supermoto: is there actually places that will service this thing and are there actually parts? Reliability issues? Finicky to get set up right engine wise from what it looks like.
    Aprilia Tuono V4: again limited service providers these and I’ve heard parts are difficult. I don’t think I need 150HP and am not super stoked at the amount of electronics
    2003- 2010 Speed Triple: Similar where do you get it serviced if I can’t do it myself. I’ve never ridden a triple but I haven’t really liked i4’s is it similar?

If you guys wanna drop any knowledge that would be amazing. I kinda am siding on the Duke as of now but the triple is growing on me and I’m like hey maybe a summer with a Tuono would be fun too.