Welcome to NESR! Most features of this site require registration, including replying to threads, sending private messages, starting new threads, and uploading files. Click here to register.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

proposed motorcycle legislation in NH

Re: proposed motorcycle legislation in NH

I tend to be fierce in my opinions about personal liberty, so I react early to any nonsensical legislation. You can bet that this baloney would keep me out of bike week on principal.

I'm a Mass resident, so I sent it to the sponsors: <jed1226@earthlink.net>, <john.henson@leg.state.nh.us>, <susan.kepner@leg.state.nh.us>

Dear Representatives,

I strongly urge you to reconsider your proposed ACT relative to motorcycle equipment and noise levels. The unintended impact to the state economy is likely to be far more significant than you might have imagined.

1. The immediate impact is likely be to be a significant reduction in income to the state's economy. The requirement for tachometers in particular is in contravention of Federal standards, and will preclude the sales of many, many motorcycles in the state. Motorcycle dealers will be impacted. They are your constituents, and voters.

2. The greater impact is likely to derive from a major decline in attendance at motorcycle week events. You are aware, no doubt, of the economic benefit that this event has on your state, but I suggest that a 50% decline in attendance due to the proposed regulations would have another, major impact on the incomes of your constituents, your voters.

3. As an aside, I find it puzzling that motorcycles are singled out in the proposal. If noise is truly the issue, I suggest the following: amend the proposal to apply the same standards to passenger cars, commercial vehicles, and construction equipment.

Sincerely,

Donald H. Thomson

0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Go fast. Have fun. Repeat.