Welcome to NESR! Most features of this site require registration, including replying to threads, sending private messages, starting new threads, and uploading files. Click here to register.

long ride tips

Dictionary quoting knob stoinkythepig's Avatar

long ride tips

I am by no means an expert on the subject but I thought I'd share some stuff that makes long days in the saddle easier to handle.

Avoid any clothing that has seams on your butt. This means no jeans, no boxer briefs, no briefs. Boxers and riding pants are a great combo (or boxers, sweat pants and riding over-pants). Never needed Gold Bond powder.

Stay hydrated. I put a big Camelback bladder in my tank bag and sip every few minutes. Makes a HUGE difference for me.

Prophylactic use of Ibuprofen. Start taking some before the ride and pop a couple at every stop. Awesome stuff.

Stand on your pegs and stretch out when it's safe to do so and long before you get aches. Once every 10 miles or so has never hurt me. I won't do it if there are police about though, I can imagine what they'd think I was doing...

please add more tips

0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

long ride tips

Thanks for the info. I plan to do my first extended trip this weekend, to Maine and back.

--HBerry

LRRS# 285 - Retired
    04 ZX-6R
    88 EX500 - Broke

Re: long ride tips

Originally posted by stoinkythepig
    Stand on your pegs and stretch out when it's safe to do so and long before you get aches. Once every 10 miles or so has never hurt me. I won't do it if there are police about though, I can imagine what they'd think I was doing...

please add more tips
    I do the same, reguardless of who is around. "I'm just airing out the swampass officer"

I am definatly no expert, but the 'preventative' streaching is definatly the best. Clutch wrist isn't sore? doesnt' matter, streach it.