Welcome to NESR! Most features of this site require registration, including replying to threads, sending private messages, starting new threads, and uploading files. Click here to register.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Riding with a passenger.....

Riding with a passenger.....

Need a little guidance here,,, I have been riding off and on for quite a few yrs. but have never ridden with a passenger, new gf wants to ride on the back,, so any advice, common mistakes etc. would be much appreciated. Trying to avoid the newbie mistakes and hurting her. Current bike is a Kawi ZZr1200 or can use a kz1000 for a trainer.Thanks in advance. JT

0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

Re: Riding with a passenger.....

tell her to hold on tight, and just lean with you. Make sure she knows not to lean opposite of you. When getting on the bike, you get on and get steady, then have her get on. Same for getting off, make sure she waits for you to get steady, then she can get off. Have a signal, like patting you on the side if she gets scared or something. Please, don't let her wear flip flops and shorts.

3 Not allowed! Not allowed!

1 make sure you have proper gear for her.

I have gear she will be using, I am a big believer in gear,, no flip flops or shorts.

I found a very good and detailed info available on the internet. Also the Total Control by Lee Parks has a section covering just what you are lookng for.

Get a 100lb sack of potatoes and take it for a ride to get a better feel of how your bike wil react

If your bike has an adjustable rear shock you might want to stiffen it up a bit...(you're adding a fair amount of weight)

Sam

On and off procedure is important as xrocket21 mentioned. Over communicate on this. Tell her how you will signal for her to both get on and get off the bike in advance. Make sure your feet are absolutely planted, and your hands are solidly on the bars. Also plan on needing to keep the bike "vertical" with your legs.