Welcome to NESR! Most features of this site require registration, including replying to threads, sending private messages, starting new threads, and uploading files. Click here to register.

How should I sand this?

How should I sand this?

Hi all, so I recently lowsided my street triple, thankfully the frame sliders and my arrow titanium slider took most of the damage. I managed to clean all of the road grime and stuff off of the exhaust as good as I could. As of now I want to sand/polish out these scratches if possible. The dent in a way flows with the exhaust, so I don't think I'm going to replace it. Any suggestions on how I should tackle this? I believe it's titanium, and I want to give it a finish similar to the rest of the can, clean but not a mirror finish.

Any suggestions as to sanding/ polishing techniques? What grit, what order, wet sand etc? I've never done this before so any insight would be awesome.

Thanks,
    Andy
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails How should I sand this?-img_0380-jpg   How should I sand this?-img_0376-jpg  

0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Last edited by mell0; 05-10-12 at 09:43 PM.
    -Andy

2013 Triumph Bonneville

Re: How should I sand this?

And I'm not sure why the pictures are upside-down, but you get the idea.

-Andy

2013 Triumph Bonneville

Scotchbrite is what people in the car world use to polish scratches out of their titanium exhaust tips.

I imagine scotchbrite and an hour or two would make that look a lot better...

Upon some searching though some say that the titanium coating can't be polished, but at the state the exhaust is in now I'd give polishing a shot.

I'm pretty sure I've seen polished titanium exhausts before. I think a scotchbright might work once I get some of the deep stuff smoothed out, but I'm thinking sandpaper might be my best first bet. Any suggestions?

-Andy

2013 Triumph Bonneville