Welcome to NESR! Most features of this site require registration, including replying to threads, sending private messages, starting new threads, and uploading files. Click here to register.

Results 1 to 18 of 18

Any good TEKA tuners in MA/NH?

  1. #1
    Just Registered schleppy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Beverly, MA
    Age
    37
    Posts
    3,307

    Any good TEKA tuners in MA/NH?


    I think my next mod for the SV will be a good quality tune. Not so much for the power increase (I know it would be minimal, if anything), but to smooth out the powerband/power delivery.

    I would like to have a tuner reflash with a TEKA, rather than go with a Power Commander. I like the idea of a nice clean ecu flash rather than wiring up a piggyback that I've read mixed things about.

    Can anyone recommend a local tuner in the MA/NH area?

    Thanks all!

    -S

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  2. #2
    Just Registered Wishbone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Worcester
    Age
    38
    Posts
    3,738

    Any good TEKA tuners in MA/NH?

    never been but rob's dyno is all the rave

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    ~ Life passes most people by while they're busy making grand plans for it.~

  3. #3
    Super Moderator OreoGaborio's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    MA
    Age
    40
    Posts
    37,177

    Any good TEKA tuners in MA/NH?

    mixed things about Power commanders?

    me thinks it's all in the tuner.... betcha you'd be blown away w/ what TLRMan can do w/ a Power Commander & his desktop PC.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    -Pete LRRS/CCS #82 - ECK Racing, TonysTrackDays, Ironstone Ventures
    GMD Computrack Boston | Pine Motorparts/PBE Specialists | Phoenix Graphics | Woodcraft | Street & Competition | MTag-Pirelli | OnTrack Media

    The Garage: '03 Tuono | '06 SV650

  4. #4
    Lifer Kurlon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Waterboro ME
    Age
    42
    Posts
    12,857

    Any good TEKA tuners in MA/NH?

    The nice thing about a PC is the fact that you CAN just unplug it and be right back to a bog standard ECU, no reflashing, etc. Do NOT get a PC3 EX though, those are the CA approved models, and to get that approval they lock out tuning at low throttle positions and below 5k RPM, aka useless for the street.

    On your bike, you can run an ignition module along with the PC3, so there really isn't much an ECU reflash can do that a PC3 and ignition module can't. Plus you can add a quick shift kit if that's your style.

    [Only Readable by DynoJet Corporate]There, I've done my spiel, please hurry up with the sponsorship cheques![/ORDC]

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    771 Racing -=- FaceBook
    Mistake - 1992 WR250ZD / 2000 LS650P / 2019 KTM 150SX

  5. #5
    High maintenance priss
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Central MA
    Age
    41
    Posts
    1,427

    Any good TEKA tuners in MA/NH?

    Rob @ RDS has a TEKA box, thats what we used on my TL. I want to say TL is a 16-bit ECM. Not sure if SV 16 or 32. Give him a call.

    Never heard bad things about the PC (other than when they break, which I don't think happens often). Reprogram is cheaper. PCIII gives you more fine-tune capability.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  6. #6
    Just Registered TLRMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Northshore/Beverly, MA
    Age
    61
    Posts
    2,022

    Any good TEKA tuners in MA/NH?

    Quote Originally Posted by keeena View Post
    Rob @ RDS has a TEKA box, thats what we used on my TL. I want to say TL is a 16-bit ECM. Not sure if SV 16 or 32. Give him a call.

    Never heard bad things about the PC (other than when they break, which I don't think happens often). Reprogram is cheaper. PCIII gives you more fine-tune capability.
    SV is 32 bit

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Too old to rock and roll, too young to die.

  7. #7
    Just Registered schleppy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Beverly, MA
    Age
    37
    Posts
    3,307

    Any good TEKA tuners in MA/NH?

    Quote Originally Posted by keeena View Post
    (other than when they break, which I don't think happens often). Reprogram is cheaper.
    There is my two reasons right there. For the cost of just the PC (with no tune) I can get my ECU reflashed (from what I've seen). The ability to fine tune is nice, but only if someone has the time to do it. I don't really have the desire to teach myself SV tuning, and I don't want to have to pay (or bother someone) to retune/tweak my ecu.

    Based on my past experience with car tuning/ecus, I'd rather have it flashed once, and forget it. The more the ECU is monkeyed with, the more chances for niggly little issues to crop up.

    If anyone thinks I'm totally wrong, please tell me why. I'm very new to moto tuning, and I'd love to hear all sides of it.

    Thanks!

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  8. #8
    Lifer Kurlon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Waterboro ME
    Age
    42
    Posts
    12,857

    Any good TEKA tuners in MA/NH?

    Mapping a PC dials it in all in one shot, there isn't any fiddling/tuning afterwards. You put it on the dyno, and the software runs the operator through all throttle and rpm points in the map, dialing it in. Most places that sell PCs give package deals for the custom mapping session with the purchase.

    As far as PCs breaking... I've seen one bad one out of the box, I've not watched on fail after installation.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    771 Racing -=- FaceBook
    Mistake - 1992 WR250ZD / 2000 LS650P / 2019 KTM 150SX

  9. #9
    High maintenance priss
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Central MA
    Age
    41
    Posts
    1,427

    Any good TEKA tuners in MA/NH?



    With the PCIII you'll be able to tweak settings yourself, as well as get maps from other folks (if they share). Pretty sure you need the Teka if you want to zero your ECM.

    But you are right...once its set (PCIII or Teka), there's no real need to dick w/ it unless you mod motor/int/exh.

    RDS has the PC-Link, so there isn't any fiddling around to tune it. Exactly like what Kurlon said - bike is just run through a number of pre-defined throttle positions and software automatically sets fuel curve based on A/F.

    The FI on my TL is spot-on w/ Teka box tuning - very happy w/ it. It was much quicker than the PC tuning, a bit cheaper too.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  10. #10
    Member Edwardo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    100

    Any good TEKA tuners in MA/NH?

    A bunch of TL owners had issues with Bad PC2s, but I haven't heard anything about PC3s. I have a Yosh box replica that I built, but that's only for the older 16 bit ECUs.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  11. #11
    a little crazy... 978chris's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Haverhill, MA
    Age
    46
    Posts
    434

    Any good TEKA tuners in MA/NH?

    PCIII simply because of what's been stated before:

    - just unplug it and you're back to stock - niggly ECU stuff? you aren't stuck with what's been flashed on your chip. just remove PCIII.

    - offers more than a simple ecu flash (quickshift etc - heard TC module is coming)

    - takes like 15 minutes to install and you're up and running better than stock with just the base map for your bike. most places you buy from will ask you what's on your bike and give you a ballpark map that will be better than the base map that comes from Dynojet.

    - there's a shitload of Dynojet authorized tuners all over the place (yes I know that's no guarantee you get a good person).

    - again if you get niggly ECU stuff going on, just unplug the thing. back to stock ECU.

    I flash ROM chips for certain things at work all day. Judging by the number of failures upgrading firmware stuff, I really try to avoid making a change to any chip on any piece of electronics if at all possible. Try watching the power go out for whatever reason in the middle of a flash. Don't step on any wires.

    What is the cost of TEKA tune/flash + new ECU later when it's toast compared to PCIII + tune?

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    2007 GSX-R600
    1997 ZX-9R (sold)
    1979 RD400F Daytona Special (sold - i know, i know)
    Had at one point or another for off-road: KX125, Four-trax 250R, 250 3wheeler, XR250, XR400

  12. #12
    Just Registered schleppy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Beverly, MA
    Age
    37
    Posts
    3,307

    Any good TEKA tuners in MA/NH?

    ^ that is a good point. Unplug and it's stock again. Hmm...

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  13. #13
    Member Edwardo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    100

    Any good TEKA tuners in MA/NH?

    Quote Originally Posted by 978chris View Post
    PCIII simply because of what's been stated before:

    - just unplug it and you're back to stock - niggly ECU stuff? you aren't stuck with what's been flashed on your chip. just remove PCIII.

    - offers more than a simple ecu flash (quickshift etc - heard TC module is coming)

    - takes like 15 minutes to install and you're up and running better than stock with just the base map for your bike. most places you buy from will ask you what's on your bike and give you a ballpark map that will be better than the base map that comes from Dynojet.

    - there's a shitload of Dynojet authorized tuners all over the place (yes I know that's no guarantee you get a good person).

    - again if you get niggly ECU stuff going on, just unplug the thing. back to stock ECU.

    I flash ROM chips for certain things at work all day. Judging by the number of failures upgrading firmware stuff, I really try to avoid making a change to any chip on any piece of electronics if at all possible. Try watching the power go out for whatever reason in the middle of a flash. Don't step on any wires.

    What is the cost of TEKA tune/flash + new ECU later when it's toast compared to PCIII + tune?
    It doesn't flash the ECU, just adds time to the injector pulses. You change your settings on the box (cylinder, rpm range, duration) then flick the write switch momentarily, and it's saved. Change the settings for the next cylinder etc..., repeat. It's pretty much impossible to mess up. If you want to set it back to stock, just change the duration to zero and rewrite across all cylinders/rpm ranges. No wiring modifications, loose connectors or anything like that. Not that a PC is a bad thing (you definitely DO get better resolution with one), but the Teka/Yosh box tuning has its benefits.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  14. #14
    High maintenance priss
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Central MA
    Age
    41
    Posts
    1,427

    Any good TEKA tuners in MA/NH?

    Quote Originally Posted by 978chris View Post
    What is the cost of TEKA tune/flash + new ECU later when it's toast compared to PCIII + tune?
    Figure ~$200 for Teka, $425 or so for PCIII+Tune. These are just guestimates, but should give ya a general idea between the two.

    Don't need to factory in a "new ECM later"...i don't think they don't toast any more often b/c of tuning.

    One more point - you can always sell the PCIII if you sell your bike...get some $$ back.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  15. #15
    a little crazy... 978chris's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Haverhill, MA
    Age
    46
    Posts
    434

    Any good TEKA tuners in MA/NH?

    Quote Originally Posted by Edwardo View Post
    It doesn't flash the ECU, just adds time to the injector pulses. You change your settings on the box (cylinder, rpm range, duration) then flick the write switch momentarily, and it's saved. Change the settings for the next cylinder etc..., repeat. It's pretty much impossible to mess up. If you want to set it back to stock, just change the duration to zero and rewrite across all cylinders/rpm ranges. No wiring modifications, loose connectors or anything like that. Not that a PC is a bad thing (you definitely DO get better resolution with one), but the Teka/Yosh box tuning has its benefits.
    That's not so bad then. Still sounds way more complicated.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    2007 GSX-R600
    1997 ZX-9R (sold)
    1979 RD400F Daytona Special (sold - i know, i know)
    Had at one point or another for off-road: KX125, Four-trax 250R, 250 3wheeler, XR250, XR400

  16. #16
    Just Registered TLRMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Northshore/Beverly, MA
    Age
    61
    Posts
    2,022

    Any good TEKA tuners in MA/NH?

    Quote Originally Posted by Edwardo View Post
    A bunch of TL owners had issues with Bad PC2s, but I haven't heard anything about PC3s. I have a Yosh box replica that I built, but that's only for the older 16 bit ECUs.
    The issue wasn't with the PCII's It was with the crank angle sensor not sending a good signal to the PCII...Easily remedied by powercommander if you sent it back..They would by-pass the timing feature, which in my opinion doesn't really make a lot of difference on the TLR..makes about the same power with -5 deg lead versus +5 deg lead.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Too old to rock and roll, too young to die.

  17. #17
    First name on the shit list.... SVRACER01's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Farmington
    Age
    42
    Posts
    17,333

    Any good TEKA tuners in MA/NH?

    Quote Originally Posted by OreoGitorio View Post
    mixed things about Power commanders?

    me thinks it's all in the tuner.... betcha you'd be blown away w/ what TLRMan can do w/ a Power Commander & his desktop PC.
    i think what he means is that the PC3 really doesnt do anything for the SV. (power increase) much like the K&N doesnt. it will help smooth things out a *little* but the HP gains (if any) arent really worth the big $$ for the PC3

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    When I start my KTM in the morning, rules are broken. Its inevitable...
    01 SV650S (RC51 eater)/07 690SM /03 300EXC/14 XTZ1200
    TRACKS:Firebird/NHMS/VIR/Calabogie/California Speedway/NJMP/MMC/NYST/Palmer/Thompson/Club Motorsports

  18. #18
    Just Registered schleppy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Beverly, MA
    Age
    37
    Posts
    3,307

    Any good TEKA tuners in MA/NH?

    ^ that is pretty much what made me lean towards the TEKA tune in the first place.

    I know the SV won't get a lot of power out of a tune (if any), I really just want the tune to smooth things out a bit. TEKA seems like the cheapest/easiest way to go.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

Similar Threads

  1. Good Pix
    By KillBill in forum General Bike Related
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-30-07, 07:45 PM
  2. Good For Him!
    By Stoneman in forum Off-Topic
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-20-06, 12:16 PM
  3. carb tuners
    By oreo_n2 in forum Off-Topic
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 12-29-04, 12:43 PM
  4. Here's a good one!
    By bentbryan in forum Controversial Topics
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-24-04, 06:54 PM
  5. Good day
    By R7 in forum Rides & Events
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-01-04, 06:24 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •