Welcome to NESR! Most features of this site require registration, including replying to threads, sending private messages, starting new threads, and uploading files. Click here to register.

Throttle chop

Throttle chop

Any thoughts on smoothing out a jerky throttle, especially in first twisting open/closing fully but really across the whole range? Obviously some chop is going to be there but trying to put a sort of checklist to go through and make her as smooth as possible.

I know the following can have a play in throttle chop:

- drivetrain slack
    - cush drive
    - idle speed
    - TPS check/adjust
    - throttle cable adjustment

Anything I'm missing? Maybe wheel bearings but those would have to be some bad bearings...

Is this something where a new fuel map can help? I'm completely new to FI.

0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Last edited by Tekime; 09-17-16 at 10:54 PM.
    05GSXR75005SV65090DR350

Re: Throttle chop

Wrist calibration?

Its too jerky all the time?

Cliff's Cycles KTM
    NETRA enduro B-vet
    Close your eyes, look deep in your soul, step outside yourself and let your mind go.

Quote Originally Posted by Tekime View Post

Anything I'm missing?
    yup, the most common cause, a ham fist

Quote Originally Posted by Chippertheripper View Post
    Wrist calibration?
    practice riding on wet grass or clay in the summer, or ice in the winter helps do that

RandyO
    IBA#9560
    A man with a gun is a citizen
    A man without a gun is a subject LETS GO BRANDON

hold the throttle more like a screw driver

Tim
    LRRS #44
    Superbike Services 44

If you are coming off a GS500, then it's likely your throttle application. GSXR is not a smooth touring bike with a mellow engine. It's a razor sharp bike that rewards accuracy.

1 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    2021 KTM Duke 890 R
    2016 BMW S1000XR
    1982 Honda CB750F Super Sport

Lifer

I found the same thing going from a Goldwing f6b to a VFR1200X.