Welcome to NESR! Most features of this site require registration, including replying to threads, sending private messages, starting new threads, and uploading files. Click here to register.

Touring on the SV650 standard vs SV650s or other sport bike!

Touring on the SV650 standard vs SV650s or other sport bike!

Hey all...

I am still rather new to motorcycles/riding this being my second season and all, but I am REALLY... interested in using my motorcycle to take on longer either day trips or overnights. But I was wondering if any of the people here had any input on the standard SV vs the S model. I specifically ask about the SV because the Bike is EXACTLY the same, except for the front fairing/windscreen and the side faring that it can also have, and the more leaning stance.

Background:
    The first bike I owned was a 2004 GS500-F. I loved that bike to death, no really to its death. I crashed it when I slipped on black ice in November (I live in Massachusetts, and it hadn't snowed at all yet). I bought that bike at the very beginning of the season so I had put about 5,000 miles on it before it went down. I now own/ride a 2005 SV650. I chose both bikes because they both had a more upright sitting position to them, whilst still having a sporty feeling.
    But from what I can tell my GS500-F *overall* handled MUCH better on the highway! When I was picking out bikes for this season most people I spoke to (granted people I know [in person] don't ride sport bikes) told me "o the fairings and wind screens on those bike don't really do anything!". So I wasn't to concerned with needing to get the S. But now I can't stand the wind on the highway! I have a wind screen for the bike, but it still doesn't feel nearly as smooth as the gs did. The GS was lacking in the power department though.