Welcome to NESR! Most features of this site require registration, including replying to threads, sending private messages, starting new threads, and uploading files. Click here to register.

People with TLR's help!

People with TLR's help!

I know there's at least a coupe of you guys on here.... so here goes:

Peeps at TLPlanet have me thinking its the sidestand switch, but here's what I posted over there.

Ok, well it happened again yesterday. The power to the bike will either A.) Die completely causing me to pull over and restart. B.) While im cruising along it will die and come back rapidly causing me to 'buck'. Is this a switch issue or something else? Makes me wonder because if it's the switch, shouldn't the bike just completely die everytime ?

I'm still new with the TL and this is the first issue I'm having. Another fact, the previous owner removed the sidestand switch, so the bike WILL engage first gear with the stand down. But is this even a switch issue?? AHH!

0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

guy on the vintage Yamaha Rice-rocket1's Avatar

People with TLR's help!

As far as the side stand switch goes, it is ment to kill the ignition if you put it in gear with the stand down. It does not stop it from going into gear.

The other problem that you were descibing could be a bad connection where that switch was. Check the connection and make sure it is clean. Most cases the wires spliced together, the bike will run. The wires have a bad connection (the bike can have symptoms like you were describing) or if they come apart (then the bike won't run), sounds more like a bad connection .

If you need help let me know and we can get together and try to figure it out even tho I don't have a TLR.

My ride's

95 FZR 1000
    19xx DOUBLE "D"
    (sold) 02 CBR600 F4i (track bike)
    06 Chevy Supercharged Cobalt SS

People with TLR's help!