Welcome to NESR! Most features of this site require registration, including replying to threads, sending private messages, starting new threads, and uploading files. Click here to register.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Winter thoughts...

Winter thoughts...

OK Children gather round and I will tell you a secret.

Over the course of your long life you can cycle through a number of activities and when you return it almost "feels like the first time"
    street bike
    dirt bike
    speed boat
    sail boat
    skiing

I have even once and a while gone native and sold the entire fleet so I would have nothing on my mind for a while.

2nd secret.. especially boats.. If you are mechanically handy and keep your eyes open you can buy a used mechanical toy use it for 2-3 years and sell it for what you paid. So almost free fun.

I have been motorcycling for 40 years of which I only passed on a total of 3 years and when I get back in ...

did I ever tell you about the worst sex I ever had It was wonderful

0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Glen Beck is John the Baptist

Winter thoughts...

My experience:

I've been riding on the street since 1976. There were times when riding seemed more effort than it was worth, but I always discovered a new facet.

In my early years, it was about the motorcycle itself, I'd clean 'em, paint' em, read about 'em, gab about 'em. During that time, I'd expanded my riding experiences with overnight trips, etc.

Then came racing (the first time) where the mechanics became more practical (suspension setup, engine work...), but the focus steered toward my riding skill.

Then came a family and a house and bikes were an escape where I'd go for an occassional ride with friends of by myself.

Then came MSF instructor, where my love of the sport was amplified outside myself to new riders and those wanting to learn more.

Then came Sportriders (SRNE) where riding with a bunch of serious sport riders was a thrill and the social aspect was intoxicating.