Welcome to NESR! Most features of this site require registration, including replying to threads, sending private messages, starting new threads, and uploading files. Click here to register.

Questions on racing a Honda RS125

Questions on racing a Honda RS125

I am looking at Honda RS 125's to race this season. I have some experience on a 125 racing a 1977 Honda MT125R with the USCRA. I am enjoying the 2 stroke racing but on an old bike spare parts are not cheap or easy to find.

When looking at the RS125 are some years much better than others? Any years to stay away from. What about parts availability, RSC seams to have a lot of parts. What spares do you use a lot or consider must haves. What years are the best prices.

I know in general new bikes are easier to get parts for. I don't want to get an RS125 model year that parts are getting scarce for.

I would like to find a bike ready to go or very close to ready.

Thanks
    Gene

0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

Re: Questions on racing a Honda RS125

I believe they are stopping the manufacturing of 125 stuff now or really soon. I believe they are continuing the manufacturing of the 250 parts though. Roland would be your man on this question.

-Christian LRRS/CCS HasBeen ECK Racing
    2011 Pit Bike Race CHAMPION!

Hey Gene,

The last generation of RS125's was from 1995 to when they stopped producing them a few years ago, so if you get something which is '95 or newer, you should be fine for a few years. Mine is a '95 but with a new carb (from a 98 or 99 perhaps?) and I have not had any problems getting parts from RSC so far. Having said that, Steve Asplan from RSC has warned us that parts are going to become sparse, so I don't know how long we have until they truly become vintage bikes.

One place you can look for used bikes is on the USGPRU forums. I don't really know what the going prices are, but they usually start at around 3K and can go up to 12K+ depending on spares and aftermarket parts.