Welcome to NESR! Most features of this site require registration, including replying to threads, sending private messages, starting new threads, and uploading files. Click here to register.

01 gsxr 750 Steering bearing replacement questions

01 gsxr 750 Steering bearing replacement questions

I need to pull the bearing race from steering stem (01 GSXR 750). I will need to press new race and reassemble everything. I have read plenty of threads and the manual, so I have a theoretical understanding of the procedure. I have never done it before. What tools should I use, and should I buy or rent them? Motion pro has a nice tool set for $130-ish, but I am looking for something cheap. I don't do these for a living, just work on my own bikes. Your suggestions and pointers would be very much appreciated.

Is there any advantage to "all balls" aftermarket steering head bearings?

I will also need to replace front and rear wheel bearings. Looks fairly straightforward. Any gotchas I should watch out for?

P.S. I do have an arbor press, but no arbors. I can buy or make arbors for it if necessary.

0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

Re: 01 gsxr 750 Steering bearing replacement questions

I've always made a chisel/drift/etc work just fine for changing steering head bearings.

I've used AllBalls for all my bikes. I approve of their stuff. Available cheap on Amazon, just look up the part number on the AllBalls site.

Do you have a large assortment of sockets? Especially bigger ones? Then you are good assuming you have a mallet.

Getting the old races out is the hardest part. For the steering stem, a cold chisel works wonders by working around the base between the lower triple and the race. Or, just Dremel it off with a cutting wheel.