Welcome to NESR! Most features of this site require registration, including replying to threads, sending private messages, starting new threads, and uploading files. Click here to register.

Carb syncing anyone?

Carb syncing anyone?

Hey everyone, just picked up a "new" bike, a 97 Suzuki VZ800 marauder. It's in great shape and has just over 6,000 original miles but from the sounds of it the carbs are out of sync. I have zero experience with carbs so try to bear with me. Anyways, when i let off the throttle i seem to get a lot of popping out of one cylinder which, based on my research, tells me that carb may be running lean? I'm also assuming that if one carb is running lean and the other isn't then they need to be synced? A few other stats on the bike, it has dual straight pipes, i don't think it has been jetted and it still has all the factory emissions crap and air filters, etc. I'm really just not sure where to start and to me carbs are overwhelming. Any help would be appreciated.

0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A334 Safari/7534.48.3)

TLR man may be interested and is very carb savvy.

Corey

Re: Carb syncing anyone?

Carb sync won't help a lean conditon. Properly jetting and correct air screw adjustment will. Add to that the air pump that is still on the bike and all this put together causes your popping. Quite honestly, in this application, the OEM air filters are desireable since the engine is not heavily modded and does not require aftermarket filters, IMO, so I'd leave those alone regardless of the straight pipe setup.

In layman's terms, a carb sync evens out the intake pulse as well as throttle response.

Based on your location, Mark (TLRMan) is who you wanna contact.

Last edited by butcher bergs; 11-03-11 at 12:37 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by Mr. Gixxer View Post