Welcome to NESR! Most features of this site require registration, including replying to threads, sending private messages, starting new threads, and uploading files. Click here to register.

The Evolution of a Cheapfighter Part I and II

I started a build up of a cheap streetfighter. I don't know if you guys and girls want to see the build up over the winter but if you do, here are my first two installments theat I posted on another forum. Also if anyone has parts for sale for this style of bike then let me know because i may need them.

The Kane Chronicles Part 1, 11-15-06

Fresh purchase of a $900 dollar GSXR.

As I start tearing the bike down last night I noticed some odd things about the bike. I am no expert on the GSXR series bikes but I saw some components that looked like they may be from the 600cc bike and not the 750cc bike that I purchased. This bike had standard forks and an unbraced swingarm. The 750 came with USD forks and a braced swingarm. This led me to do some research before I continued with the tear down. I checked the frame vin on a vin website and it is indeed a clean titled GSXR 750 frame. OK? So what motor do I have? I noticed the motor had coils in the valve cover for the spark plugs. The 750 does not have this. I measured the carb venturies and they are indeed 600 cc carbs so I took the engine code and looked it up. Yup, I have a 600cc motor also. It looks to me like some one procured (stole maybe) a GSXR 600 sometime ago and either had, or purchased a clean titled 750 frame. So now it looks like I have a legally owned bike with questionable parts. Who knows, maybe someone had a bent 600 frame and just bought a 750 frame because they got a good deal on it and then swapped it all out, I don’t know.