Welcome to NESR! Most features of this site require registration, including replying to threads, sending private messages, starting new threads, and uploading files. Click here to register.

HELP! Fork Seal Replacement

HELP! Fork Seal Replacement

Soooo I have a bit of a problem, the fork seals on my R1 are leaking - definitely need to be replaced. I have never done the service myself before and I'm on a bit of a time crunch.

My buddy was going to try and help me with the job, but his work has made him travel considerably more than anticipated. I have a track day Monday with Tony's and need to have them rebuilt this week. I called some shops and they want UBER money to get them done.

I have the seals, just need to pick up some oil. Can anyone that has done a few help me out this week one evening? I'm located in the Sturbridge area, will provide beer during the job and a case of your favorite to take home.

Can anyone help?

0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

Equal opportnity offender Lxpony's Avatar

Re: HELP! Fork Seal Replacement

sucks Matt. I had Higgins do them on my ZX10R.. took 5 days and $180 and I supplied the seals/wipers.

Good luck..

If I had ever done USD forks I'd lend a hand, but I think you need special tools that I don't have. Good luck.

They quoted me $220.00 for just the labor, and won't accept the seals I bought because they aren't genuine Yamaha. They also couldn't guarantee finishing them in time...blah.

Quote Originally Posted by Eric Baker View Post
    If I had ever done USD forks I'd lend a hand, but I think you need special tools that I don't have. Good luck.
    +1

You don't need special tools. You can use an old seal cut in half to drive in the new seal. You really just need a vise, the correct sockets/wrenches, and a propane torch, heat gun or blow drier.