Welcome to NESR! Most features of this site require registration, including replying to threads, sending private messages, starting new threads, and uploading files. Click here to register.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Plugging a tire?

Plugging a tire?

Never done it but picked up something in my rear tire. Fairly new diablo Rosso. Plugging a tire?-imageuploadedbytapatalk1402140515-830307-jpg

So what's the process?

0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

Re: Plugging a tire?

I"ve just plugged them and been done with it. I've never had an issue. Some put patches on the inside or a mushroom plug from the inside.

Better a Racer for a moment then a spectator your whole life!

Posted by Jane in BoxChat
    Jaynnus - I can't regret what I don't remember

Originally Posted by gmdboston
    Guys, its Maine. The waitresses have more tits, than teeth......

Ive plugged them, but ideally you want to replace the tire

CCS #31

Any certain plug kit to look for? Total newb at this. I have not way to get the tire off the rim myself so it would just be from the outside. Thanks!

Yeah. I know ideally replace is better.

Don't run with the pack. whynot's Avatar

I use a regular auto tire plug kit (string plug I think it's called), available at any auto parts. Get the tool (rasp and inserter), strings, and glue. Have the plug ready BEFORE you pull out the nail/screw, the hole can close up fast and sorta disappear, so mark the spot with chalk, and have the plug ready. Working quickly and carefully, yank out nail, clean hole with rasp end of tool, leave rasp in the hole while you pick up the inserter loaded with string which is loaded with glue, then plug it. I think that's how I did it ... .

The kit might have instructions, or the counterman might be helpful, and there's always YouTube, right?

Then I do what Sheppo mentioned, remove the wheel when I have the chance and take it to someone who knows what he's doing for a mushroom plug applied from the inside.