Welcome to NESR! Most features of this site require registration, including replying to threads, sending private messages, starting new threads, and uploading files. Click here to register.

Replacing Caliper Seals on SV650

Grease Monkey for Hire bergj1986's Avatar

Replacing Caliper Seals on SV650

I need to replace the caliper seals on my 00 SV650 because one of the pistons on the right caliper doesn't move the same amount as the other one. I'm pretty sure it's the seals because after I attempt to clean the pistons with brake cleaner, the caliper works fine again for a little while.

My questions is, in order to remove the caliper pistons, I was thinking of removing the brake line and pulling the pistons out with the caliper on the bench. Is there another/better way to do this? This is my first time replacing caliper seals.

Thanks,
    Josh

0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

Goodbye Sweet Dreams BLACK SQUIRREL's Avatar

Re: Replacing Caliper Seals on SV650

Dont know,

But I do have a st of First gen SV650 Calipers with stainless steel lines I would sell maybe

Zip Tie Alley Racing #444

Signature edit by Tricky mike

Lifer

Remove the pads first (to avoid contaminating them with fluid), then remove the brake line. Then unbolt the caliper and do the rest on the bench. I used compressed air to pop my pucks out. Put a rag over the caliper when you do this.

I would def take the pads out and everything in order to get the pistons out. So I'll use the idea of using compressed air to pop the pistons out, replace the seals, then do I just push the new piston and seals assembly back into the caliper? It surprises me that theres nothing trying to hold the pistons in given the extreme forces theyre under.

Normally the pistons are restrained by the pads and rotor blocking their escape route. They aren't under extreme pressure though, just whatever pressure your hand can generate at the master, release and there should be a slight vacuum which draws them back in.