Welcome to NESR! Most features of this site require registration, including replying to threads, sending private messages, starting new threads, and uploading files. Click here to register.

Who's doing their own tire changes?

rides bikes

Who's doing their own tire changes?

I've been doing mine for a few years, but think I need to step up my game. I'm using the cheap HF tire changer (Manual Tire Changer) with Mojoblocks rim protectors and the standard 3pc Motion Pro irons (Tire Iron Set - 8 In, 11 In, 15 In). I've got all types of bikes and use it for everything. I probably change 1-2 tires a month with it.

The HF changer actually works pretty well and has never scratched a rim (it would work much better if I actually secured it to the floor, but space is at a premium and I like being able to move it). I don't like the bead breaker, but it works ok. The issue is probably with the irons: I'm getting a little sick of scratching rims and nearly killing myself with them. What are you guys using? I have never used the big bar that the changer came with, so maybe I should try that, but I'm not too optimistic about it working any better. Plus the center bar is too big for anything short of a Harley axle. I'm looking at all of the accessories No-Mar offers and they all seem like they'd help, but they are pretty expensive. I used to use these and they were amazing (XtraHand Clamp | Tire Tool | No-Mar Tire Changer | Cycle Hill Tire Changer). All of the spoons No Mar has look great, but they're sold in pairs and I've never needed less than 3, which means spending $120+ in spoons (or I guess get one pair and a clamp...).

Anyone ever plasti-dipped tire irons? I wonder how well it would hold up...

Any good hacks or workarounds?

Just rambling....feel free to interject thoughts or ideas.

0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Last edited by nick5446; 03-25-16 at 09:35 AM.

100 X slower than Gerard scootertrash's Avatar

Re: Who's doing their own tire changes?