Welcome to NESR! Most features of this site require registration, including replying to threads, sending private messages, starting new threads, and uploading files. Click here to register.

First mx/sx race

First mx/sx race

I don't usually post race reports, but what the fuck. Figured I'd throw it up and try and brighten up your guys weekend.

I'll preface this by saying I'm a late in life road racer, turned supermoto racer who did his first Supercross race yesterday at the age of 46. I will admit that I have been riding open practice periodically at mx tracks for a couple years and have done several Jay Days, but it's not really the same thing. The pressure of lining up on the line and waiting for a gate to drop and then going all out for 8 laps isn't really comparable.

So, I've been traveling a little bit for smec... like I was in Maine, Michigan and Wisconsin 3 out of the 4 weeks last month. And with the final round at ovrp next weekend and then Loudon after that, I decided to skip boxshop this weekend. My step brother in law last weekend at a family BBQ invited me to come race at Winchester speedway. He's a late in life mx racer almost my age and usually the guy I talk to to for hours at any family event. So I said "fuck it". Figure it might be fun and good cross training.

Okay, enough back story. So Winchester has two tracks, an mx track and a smaller sx track. I've never ridden either even though it's like 45 minutes from my house. So I show up Saturday morning around 8:15. A little later than I wanted, but typical of me, lol. Get registered, get a transponder and gear up just in time for practice. Our group was first, there was only one practice and it was really short. Like 3 laps on a track I've never ridden short. I signed up for two races, 40+ and 30+. Kind of stupid as I didn't realize how tired I'd be doing 8 laps, but wanted the extra seat time. Each race has 2 mains and your overall position is a combination of both races.