Welcome to NESR! Most features of this site require registration, including replying to threads, sending private messages, starting new threads, and uploading files. Click here to register.

Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

2003 sv650 parts & advice :-)

2003 sv650 parts & advice :-)

Just picked up a 2003 sv650 that was crashed. Looking to make it a dedicated track bike(maybe race bike?) for next season. I'm new to the 650s and would greatly appreciate any advice on some things they benefit from on the track. My goal for this bike will be a little at a time as I'm not a seasoned racer by any means. I have a wishlist of some things I know I would want and would like input on where to score some parts it needs.

Here's what it needs(to my knowledge)

-A radiator(bent in the crash)
    -Upper fairing stay...actually I think the left side fairing stay is the only straight one.
    -brake lever
    -shifter pedal

On the wishlist...
    -race plastics
    -woodcraft stuff(sliders, rearsets, clipons)
    -ss brake lines/fluid/pads
    -gmd worked front end
    -new chain
    -exhaust
    -better rear shock(ideas?)

I'm sure I'm missing something. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks in advance!

Alex

0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

Re: 2003 sv650 parts & advice :-)

-Christian LRRS/CCS HasBeen ECK Racing
    2011 Pit Bike Race CHAMPION!

A GSXR 750 or 1000 shock will transform the rear end feel completely. Lots of take-offs kicking around, but be sure to pick up some 1/2" raising dogbones to compensate for the shorter shock.

The stock SV650 front end was pretty bad too, especially for track duty. I would recommend swapping it with USDs from a GSXR, or the beefier, adjustable standard forks from an SV1000. I actually have a set of forks/triples/calipers/stabilizer off my SV1000 from when I swapped it for GSXR components, if you're interested. It'll all bolt right up.

SVenpointsixtwo
    2016 Honda CRF1000L Africa Twin
    2015 KTM 350 XCF-W