Welcome to NESR! Most features of this site require registration, including replying to threads, sending private messages, starting new threads, and uploading files. Click here to register.

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

SENA 20S

SENA 20S

So I’ve been using SENA SMH5’s for a couple years now. When I purchased the SMH5, I bought the oversized speakers for them. I used mine on pretty much a daily basis, for music and directions while riding alone, as well as use them when my wife is with me for rider to passenger communication. When I bought the SENA units I had previously had a pair of Scala G4’s. The G4’s had relatively small buttons and it was hard to switch modes. Both of the G4 units failed within a month of their warrantee’s expiring, so I was going with something other than Scala.

When riding with my wife she likes to keep the intercom open, so she can comment on things as we are riding. When we had the G4’s this was a challenge for her, as with gloves on it was hard to find the right button to do this. The SENA SMH5’s make this much easier, as you only need to hit the big jog button, but because of her experience with the G4’s she tended to not want to do that, but just keep the channel open. For many rides this is perfectly fine. For rides with an actual destination (we sometimes will pick a city somewhere in the NE and book a hotel for Saturday night, ride there during the day on Saturday, spend the night, and ride back on Sunday) where I need directions from my phone, keeping the intercom open all the time means that I sometimes miss directions. Usually this isn’t that big of a deal, sometimes it is.