Results 1 to 12 of 12

My Chimney has no flue liner

  1. #1
    Posting Freak Sidewinder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    NH
    Age
    38
    Posts
    892

    My Chimney has no flue liner


    My lake house chimney has no flue liner it's ony brick, what are my options can I use a stainless steel piece or do I have to have one installed.
    I've checked google not to many people have run into this situation.

    What are my options?

    0 Not allowed!

  2. #2
    Don't bother me! R7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Yamaha Blvd
    Age
    41
    Posts
    12,528

    Re: My Chimney has no flue liner

    If the inside dimension of the chimney is large enough, you can sleeve it with a stainless liner.

    How is the camp coming anyways?
    I'm thinking you should host a winter party/ice riding get together

    0 Not allowed!

  3. #3
    Lifer
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    massachusetts
    Posts
    1,723

    Re: My Chimney has no flue liner

    If someone here doesn't know, someone here http://www.hearth.com/econtent/index.php/forums/ will.



    Edit. R7 is fast.

    0 Not allowed!
    Last edited by burnham; 10-07-09 at 06:38 PM.

  4. #4
    Dictionary quoting knob stoinkythepig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Raymond NH
    Age
    48
    Posts
    3,805

    Re: My Chimney has no flue liner

    I put a flexible SS liner in my parent's wood stove chimney a couple of weeks ago. It was very easy. I used a grinder to cut it to length after is was in place. Lemme know if you need any advice.

    0 Not allowed!

  5. #5
    Lifer richw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Baltic,CT
    Age
    66
    Posts
    4,523

    Re: My Chimney has no flue liner

    :IWS:

    0 Not allowed!

  6. #6
    Posting Freak Sidewinder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    NH
    Age
    38
    Posts
    892

    Re: My Chimney has no flue liner

    Mark and Stoink
    Do I sleeve the entire chimeny or is there a box that tapers to the diameter sleeve? Not sure how above the damper it slims down to the small 8" sleeve.
    The chimeny is 14" x20" roughly. So any size should fit.

    Mark its coming along slowly I'm doing all the work on weekends I'm at the finish stage Electrican and plumber are up next.

    I'm going to try and winterize it I bought some 6" foam boards to wrap under the house.

    0 Not allowed!

  7. #7

    Re: My Chimney has no flue liner

    You can get a kit from Homedepot tell them the size if they dont know tell them to go into there peabody/slantfin catalog. Its near the back half of the pages... alls u need is 2 people to install on on roof one inside house... only know this because i had to sit threw a 2 hr meeting about it

    0 Not allowed!

  8. #8
    Posting Freak Sidewinder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    NH
    Age
    38
    Posts
    892

    Re: My Chimney has no flue liner

    Thanks I'll give depot a try, 2 hr class on it? What do you do for a living?

    0 Not allowed!

  9. #9
    Angry Gumball RandyO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Farmington, NH
    Age
    61
    Posts
    9,426

    Re: My Chimney has no flue liner

    Doug, theres a company, I can't remember the name that does chimney flue liners

    I've seen it done, they go up on your roof, insert a sock is inflate it with pressurized air, then they pour a masonry type liner, let it harden and remove the sock

    0 Not allowed!

  10. #10
    Posting Freak Sidewinder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    NH
    Age
    38
    Posts
    892

    Re: My Chimney has no flue liner

    Randy If you remember the name let me know I've heard of the process but have not seen a company that does it.

    0 Not allowed!

  11. #11
    Dictionary quoting knob stoinkythepig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Raymond NH
    Age
    48
    Posts
    3,805

    Re: My Chimney has no flue liner

    The liner I used had a thimble for the 90 degree turn where the wood stove connected to the chimney. I put a 3 foot section of ridgid SS liner below the thimble. I hope this answers your question.

    0 Not allowed!

  12. #12
    Kosher Assassin Stoneman's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Center Barnstead, NH
    Posts
    1,122,829

    Re: My Chimney has no flue liner

    Quote Originally Posted by Sidewinder View Post
    Randy If you remember the name let me know I've heard of the process but have not seen a company that does it.
    Abundant Life on route 4 in Chichester does linings...

    0 Not allowed!

Similar Threads

  1. How to wash helmet liner?
    By Hauptman in forum General Bike Related
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 08-07-09, 12:01 AM
  2. Adding to existing Chimney Any Masons?
    By Sidewinder in forum Off-Topic Stuff
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-28-09, 02:39 PM
  3. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-29-08, 07:55 PM
  4. Prices for a Chimney
    By TheIglu in forum Off-Topic Stuff
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-28-07, 11:15 PM
  5. Opinions on Joe Rocket Dry Tech Liner
    By ChicknStripEatr in forum General Bike Related
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-06-06, 09:12 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •