Welcome to NESR! Most features of this site require registration, including replying to threads, sending private messages, starting new threads, and uploading files. Click here to register.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Trails are a bit slick

Trails are a bit slick

got the wr's inspected today , and I headed out into the woods behind my house for a rip , its still a bit slick , tires packed up quick with mud . I decided to call it quits when an easy log crossing tossed me into the sapplings.
    Think I'll give it a few more weeks to dry out a bit .

0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    12 Vstrom 1000
    09 KLR 650
    09 Yamaha WR450F (street legal)

(hers)
    13 Vstrom 650ADV
    08 Yamaha WR250F(street legal )
    09 KLR650

Lifer

Re: Trails are a bit slick

I have been breaking in my new bike - gently. The trails are indeed slick. I almost crashed at least 4 times today alone. Wet, diagonal, stripped logs seem to be everywhere. I am just starting to learn how to ride this thing. It is definitely very different than any of the other thumpers I have owned in the past. It lugs just fine, but doesn't really want to stay there. It is happier at a higher RPM than I am accustomed to. I tend to compare everything to the KDX, and this bike is pretty nice, no doubt about it, but the KDX was a bit easier to ride in the nasty stuff. The 350 blows the KDX away once the terrain opens up, though.
    My new boots are compounding the issues as well. I have been having a hard time feeling the shift and brake levers. A few more rides are definitely required before I get up to speed.

I accidently dropped a tooth on the front sprocket when I changed the chain and sprocket recently , so I am getting used to the new shift points as well , today was the first ride since the change , which ddin't help my traction issues today as I was more revy in 1st and 2nd gear . But I am liking that 2nd gear is more user friendly now .

12 Vstrom 1000
    09 KLR 650

(hers)
    13 Vstrom 650ADV